Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middle Ages & Renaissance
Medieval and Renaissance history is not covered in depth in sources like Historical Abstracts; these topics have specialized databases. In addition to searching the library catalog for full-length books and printed primary sources, and JumpStart for secondary source journal articles, you can use the following databases to locate additional sources in topics such as art, music, religion, and culture as well as history.
Secondary Sources in Medieval and Renaissance History
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Search books, articles, and essays about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700 C.E.), published from 1784 to present. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 400-1700 C.E. Citations only.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. This collection also includes images. Coverage: 1990 to present. Citations only.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
Primary Sources in Medieval & Renaissance History
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on Medieval & Renaissance history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Access the first book published in English through titles from the age of Spenser and Shakespeare. This collection contains titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. It covers many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Coverage: 1475-1700, contains primary sources. Full text.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Access images of Christian, secular, and other religiously oriented Medieval art, in color and black and white images. This collection includes art from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture. Coverage: late antiquity to the 16th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Access manuscripts of European travel writing from the later medieval period, focusing chiefly on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land and it features a number of medieval maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and some modern translations of key travel texts. Coverage: 13th-16th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies
, Theatre & Dance
Assoc. Director for Library Resources & Administration