Journals List
Enter your search:
This box searches journal and newspaper titles only. Use JumpStart to search for specific articles.
Newspapers
While some current newspapers allow you to read the daily headlines without a subscription, most will not allow you to read all of the current articles, nor will they allow you access to older articles without payment. The library maintains subscriptions to numerous current and historical newspapers that you cannot otherwise access. They are important sources of primary material.
Much more detailed information about Dickinson's newspaper access can be found on our Newspaper Guide.
Historical Newspapers - US
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAccess full-text content, including images, of historical primary source nineteenth century newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States. These newspapers are cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1800s, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAccess citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia & Alabama (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access issues of wartime newspapers from FL, GA, TN, VA and AL, from 1860 to 1865. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1860-1865, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was a gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund.
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Explore fully searchable historical newspapers from all 50 states. Searches can be limited by date range, article type, language, place of publication, and newspaper title. Coverage: 1690-1922, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAccess historical articles and images from the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger; American Israelite; Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; Baltimore Afro-American; Boston Globe; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; Chinese Newspapers Collection; Guardian & Observer; Jewish Advocate; Jewish Exponent; Los Angeles Times; New York Amsterdam News; New York Times; Philadelphia Inquirer; Philadelphia Tribune; Pittsburgh Courier; Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; Wall Street Journal; and Washington Post. Coverage: varies by paper ranging from 1791-2018, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowSearch across primary source collections including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, Indigenous Peoples: North America, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Associated Press Collections, as well as a variety of periodical archives including: Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers; Nineteenth Century United States Newspapers; Financial Times; The Economist; Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950; The Listener, 1929-1991; The Sunday Times (London); The Telegraph; The Times (London); and The Times (London) Literary Supplement. Coverage: 19th-21st centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- New York Times -- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access articles and images from historical issues of the New York Times. Coverage: 1851-2020, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Pennsylvania Historic NewspapersFull-text searchable PA newspapers, primarily from the 19th century, but with coverage from 1789 to 2010 for limited titles
Historical Newspapers - International
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers [Part 1 & Part II] This link opens in a new window
Access national and regional English newspapers, as well as newspapers from Scotland, Ireland and Wales, especially those that helped lead political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes have also been included. These newspapers are cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1800-1900, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowSearch across primary source collections including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, Indigenous Peoples: North America, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Associated Press Collections, as well as a variety of periodical archives including: Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers; Nineteenth Century United States Newspapers; Financial Times; The Economist; Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950; The Listener, 1929-1991; The Sunday Times (London); The Telegraph; The Times (London); and The Times (London) Literary Supplement. Coverage: 19th-21st centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Access primary source material from rare collections around the globe. This archive includes 12 collections:
- (1) Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange includes government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, & more.
- (2) British Politics & Society includes sources related to the political climate in Great Britain.
- (3) British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture includes primary sources such as playbills, scripts to operas & complete scores.
- (4) Children's Literature & Childhood includes books & periodicals for children.
- (5) Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest includes monographs, periodicals, & other materials documenting European policies & their effects in Africa.
- (6) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection includes English, French & German titles including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry & more, with a focus on difficult-to-find works by historically neglected writers.
- (7) Mapping the World: Maps & Travel Literature includes battle and boundary maps, fictional travel narratives, guidebooks, pamphlets, trail and road maps, and more.
- (8) Photography: The World through the Lens, includes photos & publications about photography.
- (9) Religion, Reform, and Society includes periodicals, monographs, family papers, society records, and other religious publications.
- (10-11) Science, Technology & Medicine: 1780-1925, parts 1-2 include journals, books & other documents.
- (12) Women: Transnational Networks includes journals, books, manuscripts, & other materials, mostly from the U.S. & U.K., but with some other countries as well.
This archive is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 19th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
Current News
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAccess citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
- Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new windowAccess news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Access national and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS. Includes articles from the Carlisle, PA Sentinel. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
