Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for Middle East History
Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd and 3rd editions)
Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. Contains over 10,000 entries from hundreds of scholars with full color illustrations. Updated 4 times per year. Includes maps from the Historical Atlas of Islam. Full-Text.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
Encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Islam and qur'anic studies. Coverage: 6 volumes. Full-Text.
The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
The following databases will help you research Middle East history. In addition to searching the library catalog for full-length books and printed primary sources, and JumpStart for secondary source journal articles, you can use the following specialized databases to locate additional sources.
Secondary Sources in Middle East History
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Coverage: 1906 to present. Citations Only.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
An index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. Coverage: 1900-present. Citations Only.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of Islam and the Islamic world. This resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Coverage: Varied. Mostly Full-Text.
Primary Sources in Middle East History
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on Middle East history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 (Archives Unbound)
Offers original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974 (Archives Unbound)
Offers original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil and arms dealing. Gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
Records of the Persian Gulf War (Archives Unbound)
Contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990. Gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund. Coverage: contains primary sources.
World News Connection Archive
Archive of foreign-language new articles translated into English. Search full text, limit results or browse by region, country and date. Coverage Range: 1995-2013, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
CQ Press Electronic Library
Includes The Contemporary Middle East, a documentary history. Covers key events that have shaped the region since World War I. Searches across all of the CQ Press electronic resources. Coverage: 1915-present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Master's Program in Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies