Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dickinson College History
Archives & Special Collections is well-known for its rich and detailed history of the college and its influences. The following databases will help you research the history of Dickinson College, and you can find many more materials by searching the library catalog to the left.
Dickinson College Archives on Flickr This link opens in a new window
View selected photographs from Dickinson's special collections, including images of 1920s Alaska, the Carlisle Indian School, the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago, and late 19th-century Europe. Visit the Dickinson Archives to access the original photographs. Coverage: contains primary sources. Citations only.
Dickinson College Archives & Special Collections This link opens in a new window
Explore a variety of archival materials (e.g. the Dickinsonian and Microcosm), college history projects, and subject-based digital projects including the Carlisle Indian School, the LGBT Center of Central PA History Project, and Slavery and Abolition in the United States. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Some full text.
Dickinson College Photos This link opens in a new window
View selected images of Dickinson people, places, organizations, and events from the 19th and 20th centuries. Visit the Dickinson Archives to access original photographs. Coverage: 19th-20th centuries, contains primary sources. Citations only.
Isaac Norris Collection This link opens in a new window
Search books donated to Dickinson College by John and Mary Dickinson in 1784. This collection contains bibliographic information along with images of title pages. Visit the Dickinson Archives for access to the original books. Coverage: 1500-1759, contains primary sources. Citations only.
James Buchanan Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Explore the life and times of James Buchanan, Dickinson class of 1809, including Buchanan's memoirs and unpublished correspondence, several biographies, cartoons, and engravings. This collection includes an extensive bibliography of writings by and about Buchanan and a comprehensive timeline of his life. It also contains information relevant to research on 19th-century politics, diplomacy, economics, and military activity, as well as slavery and the Civil War. Visit the Dickinson Archives for physical access to original materials. Some full text.
Their Own Words This link opens in a new window
Read and search the full text of select books, pamphlets, diaries, and letters from Dickinson's Special Collections. Most of these items were authored by Dickinson alumni and faculty. Materials address colonial American politics; United States politics, government, and foreign relations; historical biography and autobiography; the American Civil War; the temperance movement; foreign travel; economics; medicine; philosophy; and theology. Visit the Dickinson Archives for access to original materials. Coverage: 1764-1918, contains primary sources. Full text.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies
, Theatre & Dance