Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Latin American History
The library has a growing collection of material relating to Latin American history and culture. In addition to searching the library catalog for full-length books and printed primary sources, and JumpStart for secondary source journal articles, you can use the following specialized databases to locate additional sources. Sources on this page may help you research the history and culture of Latin America and/or the history and culture of Hispanics in the United States.
Secondary Sources in Latin American History
Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
Access articles, reports, conference proceedings and reference books pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region on multidisciplinary topics. Most are written in English, but some French and Spanish resources are included as well. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
Search articles published in Latin American journals in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology, written in the languages of Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975 to present. Citations only.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Search for English and non-English materials on Latin America, covering topics in both the social sciences and humanities. Coverage: 1935 to present. Citations only.
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Search journals published around the world on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States, since the late 1960s. The journals in this index cover political, economic, and social issues, as well as the arts and humanities. Coverage: late 1960s to present. Some full text.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Access historical sources and contemporary scholarship on Latin American and the Caribbean. This collection includes peer-reviewed journals, news sources, maps, statistics, audio, video and more. Coverage: varies by titles, contains primary sources. Some full text.
Primary Sources in Latin American History
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on Latin American history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Explore a collection of articles, pamphlets, and other texts pertaining to Untied States Hispanic history, literature and culture. The content is 80% Spanish, 20% English and is searchable in both languages. Coverage: colonial era to 1960. This purchase was a gift of Robert J. Weinstein, Dickinson College class of 1941.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies
, Theatre & Dance