Research Guides: History: African Civ. to 1850

Library Catalog

Enter your search:

Recommended Secondary Source Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals, popular periodicals, reports, books, and other information resources on a wide variety of subjects. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window
Explore a multidisciplinary collection with extensive coverage of Africa and African studies, as well as information on a wide variety of topics from Africa-based publications and organizations. This collection contains citations for scholarly sources, including dissertations, research reports, and monographs. Coverage: contains primary sources. Some full text.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Search this online version of "Anthropological Literature" from Harvard University plus "Anthropological Index" from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute to find citations for essential anthropological literature. In addition to journal articles, this collection includes citations for reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Citations only.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Explore all genres of visual arts including a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This collection includes journals, books, images, dissertations and art reproductions. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text, Jumpstart searchable.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter ; for ancient history, use JSTOR . Coverage: varies. Full text.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
Explore European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Coverage: varies. Citations only.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.

Recommended Primary Source Databases

Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window Access diaries, journals, logbooks, manuscripts, rare books, correspondence, scientific and government documents, maps and charts, objects and early film footage from five centuries of European maritime exploration. Coverage: 1420-1920, contains primary sources. Full text.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window Explore quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been rights-cleared for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor on JSTOR are available.  A video on how to refine image searches in JSTOR is also available.  Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full text.

Dickinson Trout Gallery Collections
Particularly useful for images of coins or numismatics.

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO parts I & II) This link opens in a new window Access works catalogued in the eighteenth-century section of the English Short-Title Catalogue. The collection includes a wide variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 18th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window Access manuscript and rare printed sources documenting cultural contacts and literature of empire from a number of cultural and ethnic viewpoints. This collection features sources relating to Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism. Coverage: 15th to the 20th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest This link opens in a new window Access primary documents including monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics and strategy during the European powers' "Scramble for Africa." This collection is part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO). Coverage: late 18th century to 19th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
World Heritage Sites - Africa (Aluka/JSTOR) This link opens in a new window Access primary sources that provide visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. This collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, excavation reports, travelers’ accounts, maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research. Coverage: 1500s-2010s, contains primary sources. Full text.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window Access multi-lingual cultural heritage materials from countries and cultures around the world. Coverage: antiquity to early 21st century, contains primary sources. Full text.

Waidner-Spahr Library

History: African Civ. to 1850

Library Catalog

Recommended Secondary Source Databases

Recommended Primary Source Databases