Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Russian & Eastern European History
The library has a growing collection of material relating to Russia and Eastern Europe In addition to searching the library catalog for full-length books and printed primary sources, and JumpStart for secondary source journal articles, you can use the following specialized databases to locate additional sources.
Secondary Sources on Russia & Eastern Europe
ABSEEES Online (The American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies)
Covers resources on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1990 to present. Full-Text.
Central and Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS)
A multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. Areas covered include business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history and sociology. Coverage: 2000-present. Full-Text.
EBSEES (European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
Contains citations to scholarly articles, books, etc, relating to Eastern Europe. The cited materials were published in the following West European countries: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Switzerland. Coverage: 1991 to 2007. Citations Only.
Primary Sources on Russia and Eastern Europe
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on Russian and Eastern European history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
Western European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
European History Primary Sources (EHPS)
A searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources related to European History. Collections may be browsed by country, language, period, subject, and type of source. Coverage: Medieval to present, contains primary sources. Citations Only.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Master's Program in Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies