Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has a growing collection of material relating to Asian history and culture. In addition to searching the library catalog for full-length books and printed primary sources, and JumpStart for secondary source journal articles, you can use the following specialized databases to locate additional sources.
Secondary Sources in Asian History
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Search western-language journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Coverage: 1971 to present. Citations only.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life
; for medieval history, use Iter
. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Primary Sources in Asian History
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on Asian history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Explore primary documents related to the political and social interactions of Westerners in nineteenth century Asia. This collection consists principally of United States and British diplomatic documents, but also contains documents from missionary organizations and journals on socio-economic topics. It is part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
. Coverage: 1790-1949, contains primary sources. Full text.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access documents on topics relating to Japanese internal affairs in the 1930s and during World War II, including: politics, the rise of Bolshevism and radicalism, militarism, the Sino-Japanese war, trade and tariffs, social control, labor development and unrest, emigration, war, military, armament, economics, industry, trade, and the affects of the nuclear bombing of Hiroshima. Coverage: 1930-1949, contains primary sources. Full text.
Koseisha Japanese Magazine Index Database This link opens in a new window
Search Japanese language magazines and periodical articles from the Meiji era 1868 to the present. This index includes periodicals locally published in Japan as well as those published in neighboring countries during the colonial times. The database is linked with the National Diet Library's Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (Japanese Periodical Index of journals held by the National Diet Library of Japan), the National Institute of Informatics' CiNii (a research article index) and Webcat (a union catalog of the academic libraries in Japan). Coverage: 1868 to present. Citations only.
People's Daily of China This link opens in a new window
Access the Chinese language newspaper that is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. Coverage: 1946 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access primary source documents that review U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyze the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China's human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990. Coverage: 1989-1993, contains primary sources. Full text.
Yomidas Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shimbun) This link opens in a new window
Access articles from every issue of Japan's major newspaper, The Yomiuri Shimbun. This collection has four parts: 1) The Meiji, Taisho and Showa Eras section (1874-1989), 2) The Heisei Era section (September 1986 onwards), The Japan News (September 1989 onwards), and 4) The Contemporary Who's Who, with searchable biographical data and articles on prominent individuals. It includes photos, images and advertisements. Search in Japanese or English. English versions of modern articles are available. Coverage: 1874 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies
, Theatre & Dance