Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has a growing collection of material relating to African history and culture. In addition to searching the library catalog for full-length books and printed primary sources, and JumpStart for secondary source journal articles, you can use the following specialized databases to locate additional sources.
Secondary Sources in African History
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window
Explore a multidisciplinary collection with extensive coverage of Africa and African studies, as well as information on a wide variety of topics from Africa-based publications and organizations. This collection contains citations for scholarly sources, including dissertations, research reports, and monographs. Coverage: contains primary sources. Some full text.
AfricaBib This link opens in a new window
Search for publications covering topics including Africana periodical literature, African women and women travelers to Africa, Islam in Africa, the Kenya Coast, water and Africa, and education in Africa. Coverage: varies. Citations only.
African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new window
Explore African-published scholarly journals, many of which are open access. Coverage: 1990s to current. Some full text.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life
; for medieval history, use Iter
. Coverage: varies. Full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Search literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Coverage: 1906 to present. Citations only.
Primary Sources in African History
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on African history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Access Southern African material, including periodicals, local newspaper reports, national publications, United Nations documents, photographs, speeches, interviews and more, that mostly covers the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Coverage: 1950 to 1994, contains primary sources. Some full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
World Heritage Sites - Africa (Aluka/JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Access primary sources that provide visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. This collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, excavation reports, travelers’ accounts, maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research. Coverage: 1500s-2010s, contains primary sources. Full text.
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest This link opens in a new window
Access primary documents including monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics and strategy during the European powers' "Scramble for Africa." This collection is part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
. Coverage: late 18th century to 19th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
Stream music tracks from a multidisciplinary, international collection of audiovisual content. Collections include American Music, Classical Music, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music, Popular Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies
, Theatre & Dance