Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Secondary Sources in Native American History
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Topics include archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Coverage: Sixteenth century to present. Citations Only.
CQ Press Electronic Library
Searches across all of the CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Research and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some Full-Text.
Encyclopedia of American Studies
A reference resource containing general articles on American history and culture. An ideal starting point, especially for topics unfamiliar to you. The Encyclopedia addresses issues such as literature, art, photography, film, popular culture, architecture, consumer culture, urban studies, ethnicity, gender, race, economics, labor, social movements, politics, and global America. An ideal starting point, especially for topics unfamiliar to you (Part of Credo Reference package). Coverage: All Volumes. Full-Text.
Primary Sources in Native American History
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Primary documents such as diaries, travel journals and other manuscripts, treaties, speeches, artwork and rare books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers, to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1500s to 1960s, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
American Indian Movement & Native American Radicalism (Archives Unbound)
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Coverage: 1968-1979, contains primary sources.
American Indian Newspapers
Contains Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. From the Sequoyah National Research Center; University of Arkansas at Little Rock; and the Newberry Library, Chicago. Coverage: 1828-2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (History Vault)
Covers topics such as the space program, civil rights, oral histories of administration officials, the American Indian Movement, Watergate, and more. Coverage: 1960-1975, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
Hosted by Dickinson College, this database regarding the Carlisle Indian School includes contents of the files of individual students, publications produced by the school, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence, and other information. This is a work in progress, and new material is added on a regular basis. Coverage: contains primary sources.
Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals (Archives Unbound)
Union generals' reports of service during the Civil War period. Includes dates and locations of service, accounts and maps of battles. Some accounts touch upon related topics including Indian affairs and slavery. Gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Contains personal accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters, that document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection provides unique perspectives from diverse groups including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Coverage: 1534-1850, contains primary sources. Full text.
Gale Primary Sources
A combined search platform for Gale primary source collections Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Making of the Modern World; Indigenous Peoples: North America,; Archives Unbound; Archives of Sexuality and Gender; Associated Press Collections and a variety of Historical Newspaper Archives. Coverage Range: varies by collection, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Indigenous Peoples of North America
Manuscripts, Indigenous newspapers, books, and other publications exploring the political, social, and cultural history of Native Peoples of North America. Coverage: 1665-1988, but mostly 1880-1920 and 1969-1988, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Primary materials from the Library of Congress, covering various periods of American history. Includes photographs, manuscripts, rare books, maps, recorded sound, and moving pictures. Special online collections of Native American history, African-American history, United States presidents, immigration, literature, and cultural history. Coverage: American history, time periods vary, contains primary sources. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
War Department & Indian Affairs (Archives Unbound)
From 1789 until the Bureau of Indian Affairs was established in 1824, Indian affairs were under the direct control of the Secretary of War. This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals. Coverage: 1800-1824, contains primary sources.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Master's Program in Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies