Journals List
Enter your search:
This box searches journal and newspaper titles only. Use JumpStart to search for specific articles.
Core Secondary Source Article Databases for History
The following databases will help you find secondary scholary articles on topics in history. For secondary source journal articles in history, you MUST begin your search with either America: History & Life (for US and Canada) or Historical Abstracts (for topics in world history). These two databases are the standard tools for historians.
Many databases provide the full text of the articles. If the full text is not available, go to the Journals List, linked to the left, to see if Dickinson owns the journal. If you need to obtain an article from another library, you can do so quickly using the library's Borrow from Other Libraries option.
For additional databases that cover subjects related to the study of history, such as political science, religion, Latin American studies, women's & gender studies, and other topics, see the library's complete Database List.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowExplore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Additional Databases for Articles in History
These databases contain many good scholarly articles on many topics in history and can nicely supplement your searches in either America: History & Life or Historical Abstracts.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.
