Library Catalog
Enter your search:
JumpStart
African-American History
The library has a growing collection of material relating to African-American history and culture. In addition to searching the library catalog for full-length books and printed primary sources, and JumpStart for secondary source journal articles, you can use the following specialized databases to locate additional sources.
Secondary Sources in African-American History
- Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) This link opens in a new windowAccess articles from Africana; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; the Dictionary of African Biography; the Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought; the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography; and African American National Biography, along with other key resources. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
Primary Sources in African-American History
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on African-American history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
- Black History This link opens in a new window
Explore original historical documents pertaining to the history of Black Americans, mostly in the United States, but also from the Colonial era and the West Indies. Coverage: contains primary sources. This purchase was a gift of Robert J. Weinstein, Dickinson College class of 1941.
- African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess newspapers and magazines, as well as reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and social service agencies. This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). Coverage: 1829-1922, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was a gift of Robert J. Weinstein, Dickinson College class of 1941.
- Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new windowAccess articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works from African American activists who worked extensively to abolish slavery prior to the Civil War and had an international impact. Coverage: 1830-1865, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Explore the records of major civil rights organizations, personal papers from activists and observers, and FBI files covering pivotal civil rights leaders and events, as well as legislation from the 1960s, 70s and 80s. This collection also includes other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, and entertainment. It is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 20th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, including history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1949-2021, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library (History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Explore documents relating to three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, high-profile cases, and insights into developing ideologies and laws, as far back as 1861 with the Papers of Oliver Wendell Holmes, which span from the Civil War to the Great Depression. The papers of Louis D. Brandeis and Felix Frankfurter provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919 and 1961. The Frankfurter Papers reveal how the Supreme Court approached the Brown v. Board of Education decision. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 1861-1976, contains primary sources. Full text.
- NAACP Papers (History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Access primary sources that document the organization and major campaigns of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). This collection covers topics such as education, voting, court cases, lynching, segregation, employment, housing and discrimination complaints, among others. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 1910s-1970s, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Slavery & Abolition Resource Center This link opens in a new windowAccess books and pamphlets reflecting both sides of the American slavery debate. This collection includes first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works. Coverage: 1787-1920, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Slavery and the Law (History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Access petitions on race, slavery and free blacks to county courts and legislatures in Southern states, state slavery statutes, and period overviews of slavery in the courts. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 1775-1867, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Southern Life & African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records (History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Access plantation records that document the business and culture of plantations in various parts of the South. This collection includes lists of slaves, records of bills and receipts, wills and other financial and personal documents. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 1775-1915, contains primary sources. Full text.
