Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Reference Works
Reference works provide basic overview articles on various branches of knowledge. They may be general or subject-specific. They are excellent places to begin research on your topic. Reference works will provide general knowledge about your topic, help you develop a thesis, supply you with important keywords for searching, and provide you with citations to important primary and secondary works on the topic.
Online Reference Material
Some important reference works for the study of history are linked below. Many additional encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found in the Library Catalog, which you can access from the link to the bottom left.
Includes more than 900 encyclopedic titles from respected publishers in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more. Full-Text.
A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, periodicals, and more. Is one of the broadest single sources for beginning research on any topic. Includes full text multimedia encyclopedia articles, country statistics and comparisons, timelines, bibliographies, and links to journal articles and web sites. Interactive features allow you to create your own workspace to save and share your research. An ideal starting point, especially for topics unfamiliar to you. Coverage: Historical and current. Full-Text.
Encyclopedia of Geography
Reflects how the growth of geography has propelled a demand for intermediaries between the abstract language of academia and the ordinary language of everyday life. Covers physical geography, human geography, nature and society, GIS, and the history of geography, Coverage: Varied. Full-Text.
CQ Press Electronic Library
Searches across all of the CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Research and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some Full-Text.