Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has a wealth of books on English history that you can search using the library catalog, searchable at left. Journal articles for English history can be found using the database Historical Abstracts.
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on English history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
Primary Sources in English History
19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full runs (where possible) of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Cross-searchable with other collections via NewsVault. Coverage: 1800-1900 (BLN Parts I & II), contains primary sources. Full-Text.
British Politics and Society
Primary sources related to the social and political climate in Great Britain. Covers topics such as labor history, religious movements, political reforms, and education. Documents range from government reports, to periodicals, autobiographies, pamphlets, and letters. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO). Coverage: 1790-1914, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Primary sources such as playbills, scripts to operas and complete scores. Also archival documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO). Coverage: 1733-1914, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Churchill Archive Full-Text
The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history available online for the first time.It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill's personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This is more than a fantastic collection of primary source material; it is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past. Coverage: 1874-1965, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Listener Historical Archive
The Listener was a weekly publication of the BBC for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. As well as expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, The Listener also discussed major literary works, musical programmes, and regularly reviewed new books. Cross-searchable with other collections via NewsVault. Coverage: 1929-1991. Full-Text.
Times (London) Digital Archive
The oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication, providing in-depth, award-winning and objective coverage of world events. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest: in business, humanities, political science, philosophy and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events. Cross-searchable with other collections via NewsVault. Coverage: 1785 - 2013, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Master's Program in Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies