Historical Digital Book Archives
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window Access books and other materials from across the disciplines, including but not limited to fiction, nonfiction, music scores/sheet music, and scholarly works. Approximately 51% of content is in English, the other 49% consists of materials in over 450 different languages. Most content dates from the late 18th to the early 20th centuries. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Some full text. See our special access instructions.
- Internet Archive This link opens in a new window Access website content that provides insight into important world events and organizations. This collection includes web pages, books, audio recordings, videos, images, and software programs. Coverage: historical to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
This link opens in a new window
- Google Books This link opens in a new window Search for content within books. To see if Dickinson has a one of these books, click on the result, then "Get the book." Scroll down to "Borrow" to find or request the book. If you are off campus, enter 17013 as your zip code and look for "Dickinson College" in the list of libraries. Citations only.
Newspapers
Magazines
Cookbooks
- Kirschner Collection: Digitized CookbooksContains more than 150 historical cookboooks. Contains primary sources. Coverage: Late 19th to early 20th Centuries.
Advertising
- J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window Access documents relating to the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. This collection includes account files, staff newsletters, speeches, research, staff meeting minutes, and a selection of print advertisements. It covers a range of brands, companies and industries, from automobiles to cosmetics and cruises. Coverage: 20th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Ad*Access from Duke University Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. Coverage: 1911-1955; contains primary sources. Full-Text.
This link opens in a new window
- AdViews: A Vintage Archive of Digital Television Commercials Thousands of historic television commercials in product categories including food and beverage; health and beauty; consumer goods and services; transporation; business; and entertainment. Coverage: 1950s - 1980s; contains primary sources. Full-Text.
- This link opens in a new window
