Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Colonial & Revolutionary U.S.
The library has a rich collection of material relating to the founding and creation of the United States. The library catalog, linked at left, will help you find full-length books on the topic. You should search America: History & Life for secondary source journal articles.
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources abut the colonial and revolutionary periods, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5
Large Collection covering all aspects of American Society from the Colonial period through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Individual Series can be searched together or separately. Gift of Robert J. Weinstein, Dickinson College class of 1941. Coverage Range: 1691-1877, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
American History in Video
Streaming online newsreels, archival films, and documentaries covering all periods of U.S. history. May be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1700s to present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Primary materials from the Library of Congress, covering various periods of American history. Includes photographs, manuscripts, rare books, maps, recorded sound, and moving pictures. Special online collections of Native American history, African-American history, United States presidents, immigration, literature, and cultural history. Coverage: American history, time periods vary, contains primary sources. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage: 1740 to 1900, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Ancestry Library Edition
Database for genealogy and advanced biographical research. Includes census data, military records, birth/death/marriage records, immigration records, slave narratives, historic maps, photographs, and biographical dictionaries and directories. Coverage: 1790-present, contains primary sources. Mostly Full-Text.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Topics include archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Coverage: Sixteenth century to present. Citations Only.
Documenting the American South
An extensive collection of full-text sources on Southern history, literature, culture, and religion, covering from 1624 to 1920. Coverage: 1624 to 1920,contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1928
Fully searchable newspapers from all 48 states. Searches can be limited by date range, article type, language, place of publication, and newspaper title. Coverage Range: 1690-1928, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New York Historical Society
More than 200 orderly books (a form of journal kept by military units containing their orders and other information) dating from 1748 to 1817. Most are from American units during the Revolutionary War, though some from the French & Indian War, the War of 1812, and from British units are also included. Gift of Robert J. Weinstein, Dickinson College class of 1941. Coverage: 1748-1817, contains primary sources.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Master's Program in Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies