Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has a wealth of books on European history that you can search using the library catalog, searchable at left. Journal articles for European history can be found using the database Historical Abstracts.
Primary Sources in Western European History
The databases listed below will help you find primary sources on European history, though you should also use the other techniques found on the Primary Sources page.
Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Access works catalogued in the eighteenth-century section of the English Short-Title Catalogue. The collection includes a wide variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources
. Coverage: 18th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
EuroDocs This link opens in a new window
Access Western European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
Access primary sources, from personal collections and rare printed material, to military files, ephemera and artwork. This collection covers the global nature of World War I, personal experiences, propaganda and recruitment, and international visual perspectives and narratives. Coverage: World War I era, contains primary sources. Full text.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Access primary source material from rare collections around the globe. This archive includes 12 collections:
- (1) Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange includes government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, & more.
- (2) British Politics & Society includes sources related to the political climate in Great Britain.
- (3) British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture includes primary sources such as playbills, scripts to operas & complete scores.
- (4) Children's Literature & Childhood includes books & periodicals for children.
- (5) Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest includes monographs, periodicals, & other materials documenting European policies & their effects in Africa.
- (6) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection includes English, French & German titles including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry & more, with a focus on difficult-to-find works by historically neglected writers.
- (7) Mapping the World: Maps & Travel Literature includes battle and boundary maps, fictional travel narratives, guidebooks, pamphlets, trail and road maps, and more.
- (8) Photography: The World through the Lens, includes photos & publications about photography.
- (9) Religion, Reform, and Society includes periodicals, monographs, family papers, society records, and other religious publications.
- (10-11) Science, Technology & Medicine: 1780-1925, parts 1-2 include journals, books & other documents.
- (12) Women: Transnational Networks includes journals, books, manuscripts, & other materials, mostly from the U.S. & U.K., but with some other countries as well.
This archive is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources
. Coverage: 19th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Dickinson History & Special Collections
, Equity & Inclusivity
, Latin American, Latinx & Caribbean Studies
, Managing Complex Disasters
, Middle East Studies
, Native American / Indigenous Studies
, Theatre & Dance