About this Guide:
This guide provides some starting places for research into various aspects of African American foodways. For additional resources, visit the:
Finding Secondary Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals, popular periodicals, reports, books, and other information resources on a wide variety of subjects. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Explore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
African American agriculturists
African American cooking – History
African American farmers -- United States
African Americans -- Agriculture
African Americans -- Food – History
Blacks -- Food -- America -- History
Cooking, African – History
Food consumption -- United States
Food relief -- United States
Food -- Political aspects
Food habits -- Africa – History
Food industry and trade -- United States
Food security -- United States
Food supply -- Social aspects
Food writers
Food writing
Memoir
Slaves -- Diet -- United States – History
Films
Civil Rights
Southern Food and Civil Rights by ISBN: 1467137383Publication Date: 2017-01-09
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (History Vault) This link opens in a new window Explore the records of major civil rights organizations, personal papers from activists and observers, and FBI files covering pivotal civil rights leaders and events, as well as legislation from the 1960s, 70s and 80s. This collection also includes other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, and entertainment. It is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 20th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Black Liberation Army & The Program of Armed Struggle (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access FBI documents about Black Liberation Army (BLA) activities. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1970-1983, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist & Woman (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access correspondence, financial records, programs, photographs, news articles, and invitations related to the personal life and organizations of Fannie Lou Hamer, voting rights activist and civil rights leader. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1966-1978, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access documents offering a range of viewpoints on political, social, cultural and economic issues in the 1960s. This collection contains FBI files on organizations, individuals, and events, including the Black Panther Party, North Carolina; Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers; Malcolm X; Kent State; Muslim Mosque, Inc.; Students for a Democratic Society; and the Weatherman Underground Organization. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1956-1971, contains primary sources. Full text.
- NAACP Papers (History Vault) This link opens in a new window Access primary sources that document the organization and major campaigns of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). This collection covers topics such as education, voting, court cases, lynching, segregation, employment, housing and discrimination complaints, among others. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 1910s-1970s, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 This link opens in a new window Access diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary from/about 1960s America. Themes include arts, music, culture; civil rights; counter-culture; law & government; technology; student activism; the Vietnam War, and more. Coverage: 1960-1974, contains primary sources. Full text.
Vegans and Vegetarians
General Food-Related Primary Source Tools
- Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window Access archival content, visual ephemera, books, and streaming films that explore how food shapes the world. This collection includes cookbooks and recipes, menus, advertising, posters and pamphlets, pertaining to several disciplines, including history, environmental studies, health studies, anthropology, biology, business, and sociology. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
Cooks, Cookbooks, and Menus
- David Walker Lupton African American Cookbook CollectionYou can search for the full-text of these titles in Google, Internet Archive, or the Hathi Trust database.
Farming/Food Production
To find oral histories with Black farmers, do a web search for:
- Black farmers oral histories
- Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist & Woman (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access correspondence, financial records, programs, photographs, news articles, and invitations related to the personal life and organizations of Fannie Lou Hamer, voting rights activist and civil rights leader. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1966-1978, contains primary sources. Full text.