Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Books in the Library
When starting to look for books in the library using the online catalog, it is best to start with a key word or phrase to describe your topic or question. This can be a descriptive word or phrase, a person's name, or a theory or philosophy. Once you identify some relevant information on your topic, use titles, subject headings, and authors to search for additional relevant content.
Once you have found a physical book in the library (not an ebook). You will need the call number and location to locate the book. Most of our books are located in the circulating collection, which will be in the "stacks, main and upper level". For more information of finding books, you can find a library map here or view our interactive tutorial.
Books in the Library are shelved by call number in the Main and Reference Stacks (shelves). Most books dealing with the French language and French literature have call numbers within these ranges:
Language: PC 2000-3800
Literature: PQ 1-3999
You can search our DVD collection in the online catalog by scrolling down to the bottom of the advanced search screen and selecting DVD in the box for Format. Then you can search by keyword or title.
You can browse our DVD collection by following this link. DVDs in Art and Art History are listed here.
Use Worldcat to find books from other libraries.
JumpStart This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access books and other materials from across the disciplines and in diverse languages, with most content dating from the late 18th to the early 20th centuries. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Some full text. See our special access instructions
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Stream films from across the disciplines, including HBO documentaries. Search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists. Closed captioning is available for many films. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Stream thousands of scholarly videos in diverse subject areas. This collection includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations/training videos, as well as award-winning films and archival material. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Sony Pictures Classics films are unavailable for users located outside of the U.S. due to distribution restrictions. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
Make sure you only use footage that is Creative Commons licensed for reuse! This can usually be found in the video information, and feel free to ask me if you cannot determine the licensing.
Institut national de l'audiovisuel
Source for archival footage from the French National Audiovisual Institute.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Stream documentary films from renowned distributors, covering topics including agriculture and food, business and economics, education, gender studies, psychology and mental health, recreation and sports, science and technology, and more. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Swank Streaming - Semester-Long Licenses This link opens in a new window
Stream films licensed by the college per semester for educational use. Films on Swank licensed by the library are for course use only. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Stream documentary and feature films on diverse topics. Films labeled "PPR" may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. No guest access: Dickinson login required. If you are looking for a specific film, please first check Academic Video Online
and Films on Demand
. Those databases provide unlimited subscription access; use of the same film in Kanopy may result in additional charges for the library. For help using the Kanopy app, see Kanopy's instructions
. Full text.
Use Google books to search within an exisiting books or discover books that we do not have in our library.