Main French Databases @Dickinson
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- Gallica (French Language) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access freely available digitized books (including pamphlets), images, and sound resources in their original French. The collection, digitized by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, continues to grow and includes prestigious publications, dictionaries, and periodicals. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. - Pascal and Francis This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports, and theses in exact sciences and technology, biological and medical sciences, art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Coverage: 1972-2015. Citations only.
French Culture: Literature, Film, & TV (Interdisciplinary)
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly and popular information covering the spectrum of television and film studies. This collection includes articles on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Coverage: 20th century to present. Full text.
- FIlm Studies GuideMore databases to use for Film Studies.
- French XX bibliographyREF PQ305 .F7 - An index listing books, articles, and book reviews concerned with French literature and cinema.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Explore an authoritative source of literary criticism, summarizing authors' lives and works and including excerpts from scholarly articles. IMPORTANT NOTE: Because this source is an encyclopedic work, it should NEVER be directly cited. Always look up the original source of the excerpted and reprinted articles. Coverage: varies. Mostly full text.
- ARTFL This link opens in a new window
The main Database, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, contains over 3500 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century.
Also includes over 150 works from French women writers from 16th to the 20th century; Les Dictionnaires d'autrefois (16 complete dictionaries from the 17th to the 20th centuries); over 500 major and minor French novels of the 19th century; 38 collections of Provençal Poetry from the 12th and 13th centuries; Textes de Français Ancien (TFA - 103 works from the 12th through 15th century); selected French Poetry works from middle ages to the 20th century; philosophical works in French from the Renaissance to the 20th century; The Journal de Trévoux, ou Mémoires pour l'Histoire des Sciences & des Beaux-Arts. 109 volumes, 1751-1758; Pierre Bayle, Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th Edition, 1740); Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database, 1,960 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as many lesser-known texts; Histories of the French Revolution from 1789 to the 20th century; Études critiques du 19ème siècle: French literary and artistic criticism.
Coverage: 12th-20th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
Language Studies
- SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowAccess sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
Databases for the Interdisciplinary Humanities Research
- EuroDocs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access Western European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
Articles in French
- Pascal and Francis This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports, and theses in exact sciences and technology, biological and medical sciences, art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Coverage: 1972-2015. Citations only.
- Cairn.infoAccess to French scholarly journals.
- ÉruditOnline scholarly articles from Canada and North America in French.
- FabulaOnline scholarly articles about language and literature.
- GlottopolSociolinguistics online journal maintained by the University of Rouen, France.
- PerséeOffers free access to over 800,000 scientific publications in a variety of fields.
- OpenEdition JournalsOpen access publishing for journals in French.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
- Pascal and Francis This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports, and theses in exact sciences and technology, biological and medical sciences, art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Coverage: 1972-2015. Citations only.
Open Access
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access free, peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals. Coverage: varies. Full text.