General Reference
Grove Art Online is an excellent online encyclopedia for information on art and art history.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess a scholarly encyclopedia for art and art history. This encyclopedia includes thumbnail art images and line drawings, image links, and bibliographies. This encyclopedia is cross-searchable with the Benezit Dictionary of Artists using Oxford Art Online. Coverage: antiquity to present. Full text.
Images
Use ARTstor to find images of Art, Architecture, Photography, and design. For more image resources, see our guide on finding images or visit the Visual Resources Center.
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been rights-cleared for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor on JSTOR are available. A video on how to refine image searches in JSTOR is also available. Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full text.
Best Databases for Art
Consult these databases first for articles on Art and Art History. Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective can be combined to search together and maximize results.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowExplore all genres of visual arts including a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This collection includes journals, books, images, dissertations and art reproductions. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text, Jumpstart searchable.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search international journals published between 1929-1984, covering all genres of visual art. Coverage: 1929-1984. Citations only.
- Artbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowSearch full abstracts from art journals published from the late 1960s to today, covering modern and contemporary art including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Coverage: late 1960s to present. Citations only.
- International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowExplore European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Coverage: varies. Citations only.
- OpenBibArt This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search descriptive records for books, journals, and exhibition and auction catalogs, covering literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the mid-2000s. This bibliography brings together the records from the following databases: The Répertoire d’Art et d’Archéologie (RAA); International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Coverage: 1910-2007. Citations only.
Supplementary Databases for Art
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess a scholarly encyclopedia for art and art history. This encyclopedia includes thumbnail art images and line drawings, image links, and bibliographies. This encyclopedia is cross-searchable with the Benezit Dictionary of Artists using Oxford Art Online. Coverage: antiquity to present. Full text.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowAccess images of Christian, secular, and other religiously oriented Medieval art, in color and black and white images. This collection includes art from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture. Coverage: late antiquity to the 16th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Archives of American Art This link opens in a new windowExplore primary resources, such as original letters, photographs, transcripts and audio materials on people and institutions that helped found American art. Coverage: 1800s to present, contains primary sources. Some full text.
- Berg Fashion Library (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new windowAccess eBooks, museum exhibitions, images, lesson plans and bibliographic guides on fashion and related fields, including the full text of the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and an extensive color image bank. This collection is useful for research in fashion, theatre & dance, anthropology, art history, history, American studies, and cultural studies. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
Need More Help?
If you need more help researching art, see the guide for researching Art and Art History or contact the library liaison to Art.