Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A large collection of reference resources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, images, and many others.
An implementation of the FRANTEXT database, it consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. Coverage: 1600 to present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Includes more than 900 encyclopedic titles from respected publishers in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more. Full-Text.
A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, periodicals, and more. Is one of the broadest single sources for beginning research on any topic. Includes full text multimedia encyclopedia articles, country statistics and comparisons, timelines, bibliographies, and links to journal articles and web sites. Interactive features allow you to create your own workspace to save and share your research. An ideal starting point, especially for topics unfamiliar to you. Coverage: Historical and current. Full-Text.
Dictionaries & Grammar
Please see Lexilogos and alphaDictionary for collections of online dictionaries.
Collins French dictionary and grammar [electronic resource] by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: London: Collins, 2014.
This edition of Collins French Dictionary & Grammar has been revised and updated to offer extensive and relevant coverage of today's English and French, with thousands of phrases and examples guiding the user to the most appropriate translation.