Dictionaries & Grammar
- LexilogosThis site allows users to search several online dictionaries from one location and contains links to some specialized dictionaries, as well.
- AlphaDictionaryUse the WordReference Dictionary or choose from several pages of other online dictionaries and glossaries.
- French Grammar - AboutBasic reference to French Grammar.
Statistics
- Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques (Insee)This site is the French national statistics bureau. It collects, produces, and analyzes information on the French economy and society.
Culture
- Le LouvreOfficial site for the Parisian Museum.
- CesarResource for information on French theatre of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
- ThoughtCo. - FrenchA collection of resources pertaining to language and culture.
General Websites
- BNF CatalogBibliothèque nationale de France
- H-FranceWebsite for the Society for French Historical Studies.
- Au Fils du Temps: French CultureLarge collection of links for resources on France and the French language.
- Voice of the ShuttleA huge collection of resources, arranged chronologically.
- Tennessee Bob's Famous French LinksDespite the name, an exhaustive list of French links. Apparently no longer maintained; link is via Wayback Machine
- LibGuides from the BNFLes portails thématiques et les mémos de recherche de la Bibliothèque nationale de France
Literature
Collections of French Literature online. Some sites below may be restricted to Dickinson users.
- Gallica This link opens in a new window
Access freely available digitized books (including pamphlets), images, and sound resources in their original French. The collection, digitized by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, continues to grow and includes prestigious publications, dictionaries, and periodicals. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Poesie FrancaiseAn online archive containing over 6,000 poems from the Middle Ages to the 20th Century.
- ARTFL This link opens in a new window
The main Database, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, contains over 3500 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century.
Also includes over 150 works from French women writers from 16th to the 20th century; Les Dictionnaires d'autrefois (16 complete dictionaries from the 17th to the 20th centuries); over 500 major and minor French novels of the 19th century; 38 collections of Provençal Poetry from the 12th and 13th centuries; Textes de Français Ancien (TFA - 103 works from the 12th through 15th century); selected French Poetry works from middle ages to the 20th century; philosophical works in French from the Renaissance to the 20th century; The Journal de Trévoux, ou Mémoires pour l'Histoire des Sciences & des Beaux-Arts. 109 volumes, 1751-1758; Pierre Bayle, Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th Edition, 1740); Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database, 1,960 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as many lesser-known texts; Histories of the French Revolution from 1789 to the 20th century; Études critiques du 19ème siècle: French literary and artistic criticism.
Coverage: 12th-20th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- ABU: la Bibliothèque UniverselleA large collection of French literature compiled by l'Association des Bibliophiles Universels.
- Bibliotheca Augustana - Bibliotheca GallicaA collection of primary texts in French and several other languages.
- IntraText Digital LibraryA collection of primary texts in French and other modern and ancient languages.
- Charles Baudelaire's Fleurs du malThe definitive, digital publication of Baudelaire's poetry.
- FabulaOnline scholarly articles about language and literature.
French and Francophone Special Collections and Projects
- French and Francophone Special CollectionsThis database shows a list of French and Francophone special collections (with detailed descriptions in English) held at institutions throughout the United States and Canada. It was created by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Collaborative Initiative for French Language Collections (CIFNAL) Collection Development Working Group.
- French and Francophone Digital Humanities ProjectsThis guide links to a variety of French and Francophone digital humanities projects created at institutions around the world. The guide is maintained by CIFNAL’s Collection Development Working Group.