Research Guides: French : Literature

Literature

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Explore an authoritative source of literary criticism, summarizing authors' lives and works and including excerpts from scholarly articles. IMPORTANT NOTE: Because this source is an encyclopedic work, it should NEVER be directly cited. Always look up the original source of the excerpted and reprinted articles. Coverage: varies. Mostly full text.

If you need more help researching literature, see the guide for researching English and literature or contact the library liaison for these areas.

Collections of French Literature online. Some sites below may be restricted to Dickinson users.

Gallica (French Language) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access freely available digitized books (including pamphlets), images, and sound resources in their original French. The collection, digitized by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, continues to grow and includes prestigious publications, dictionaries, and periodicals. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.

Poesie Francaise
An online archive containing over 6,000 poems from the Middle Ages to the 20th Century.

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Access this implementation of the FRANTEXT database, which consists of texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. Coverage: 12th-20th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.

ABU: la Bibliothèque Universelle
A large collection of French literature compiled by l'Association des Bibliophiles Universels.
Bibliotheca Augustana - Bibliotheca Gallica
A collection of primary texts in French and several other languages.
IntraText Digital Library
A collection of primary texts in French and other modern and ancient languages.
Charles Baudelaire's Fleurs du mal
The definitive, digital publication of Baudelaire's poetry.
Fabula
Online scholarly articles about language and literature.