Citing Sources
- Cite Your SourcesCiting your sources is an important part of any research paper or project. In this guide you will find more information about citing in APA, MLA, Chicago, ASA, and GSA styles.
Images
- Gallica (French Language) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access freely available digitized books (including pamphlets), images, and sound resources in their original French. The collection, digitized by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, continues to grow and includes prestigious publications, dictionaries, and periodicals. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. - Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been rights-cleared for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor on JSTOR are available. A video on how to refine image searches in JSTOR is also available. Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access primary materials from the Library of Congress, covering various periods of American history. This collection includes photographs, manuscripts, rare books, maps, recorded sound, and video. Special online collections include Native American history, African-American history, United States presidents, immigration, literature, and cultural history. Coverage: American history - time periods vary, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Archives nationales (France)The French National Archives has a selection of primary documents digitized and available online.
- National Archives (United States)The United States National Archives contains digital copies of many primary documents.
Statistics
- Institut national de la statistique et des etudes economiquesSource for French statistics
- A-Z Databases: Statistics and Numerical DataA link to the library's group of statistical databases
Encylopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAccess encyclopedic titles in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowExplore the Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, periodicals, and more. This collection contains multimedia encyclopedia articles, country statistics and comparisons, timelines, bibliographies, and links to journal articles and websites. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
Ebooks
- JumpStart This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access books and other materials from across the disciplines, including but not limited to fiction, nonfiction, music scores/sheet music, and scholarly works. Approximately 51% of content is in English, the other 49% consists of materials in over 450 different languages. Most content dates from the late 18th to the early 20th centuries. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Some full text. See our special access instructions.
Articles
- JumpStart This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- EuroDocs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access Western European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly articles in a variety of fields. Working or studying from off campus? Set up links to full text library materials available at Dickinson. Citations only.
- Herodote.netThis site has historical multimedia. There are free resources, although many are available through subscription only.
- Fondation Charles de GaulleSite devoted to Charles de Gaulle. Includes historical sources.
Videos
The Dickinson library provides access to streaming video through these services:
- Films on Demand Streaming This link opens in a new windowView streaming films from across the disciplines, including HBO documentaries. Search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists. Closed captioning is available for many films. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) Streaming This link opens in a new windowApproximately 85,000 streaming film videos in diverse subject areas, with 3,500 new videos added each year. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations/training videos, as well as award-winning films and archival material.
Films available in Academic Video Online have limited public performance rights (except for FILM PLATFORM videos), which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
Sony Pictures Classics films are unavailable for users located outside of the U.S. due to distribution restrictions. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text. - Docuseek This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of documentaries from renowned distributors, covering various topics including agriculture and food, business and economics, education, gender studies, psychology and mental health, recreation and sports, science and technology, and more. Screening is permitted by groups on campus when no admission is charged and there is no advertising outside the learning community. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Swank Streaming - Semester-Long Licenses This link opens in a new windowView streaming films licensed by the college per semester for educational use. Streaming films on Swank licensed by the library are for course use only. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowView streaming films of documentaries and feature films on diverse topics. Films labeled "PPR" may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. No guest access: Dickinson login required. If you are looking for a specific film, please first check Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Those databases provide unlimited subscription access; use of the same film in Kanopy may result in additional charges for the library. For help using the Kanopy app, see Kanopy's instructions. Full text.
See also, for example:
- YouTubeMake sure you only use footage that is Creative Commons licensed for reuse! This can usually be found in the video information, and feel free to ask me if you cannot determine the licensing.
- Institut national de l'audiovisuelSource for archival footage from the French National Audiovisual Institute.
Please note that the library cannot provide access to commercial streaming sites like Netflix, Max, etc.
JustWatch.com is an example of a site that provides information about where a particular film or show is commercially streaming.