Main French Databases @Dickinson
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- Gallica (French Language) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access freely available digitized books (including pamphlets), images, and sound resources in their original French. The collection, digitized by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, continues to grow and includes prestigious publications, dictionaries, and periodicals. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. - Pascal and Francis This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports, and theses in exact sciences and technology, biological and medical sciences, art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Coverage: 1972-2015. Citations only.
Databases for the Interdisciplinary Humanities Research
- EuroDocs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access Western European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
Other Databases
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
- Open EditionOnline open access portal to 559 journals published in French -Humanities and Social Sciences
Second Language Acquisition Journals
Some of the links below will not work off campus or may ask you to pay for articles. In those cases, search for the title in our journal locator to access it.
Suggested Journals
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
- Pascal and Francis This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports, and theses in exact sciences and technology, biological and medical sciences, art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Coverage: 1972-2015. Citations only.
Articles in French
- Pascal and Francis This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports, and theses in exact sciences and technology, biological and medical sciences, art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Coverage: 1972-2015. Citations only.
- Cairn.infoAccess to French scholarly journals.
- ÉruditOnline scholarly articles from Canada and North America in French.
- FabulaOnline scholarly articles about language and literature.
- GlottopolSociolinguistics online journal maintained by the University of Rouen, France.
- PerséeOffers free access to over 800,000 scientific publications in a variety of fields.
- OpenEdition JournalsOpen access publishing for journals in French.
Suggested Films
Suggested Ebooks
- Langue et Pouvoirs en France de 1780 à 1850Book chapter