Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides Description
Surveys on U.S. and international voting behavior and political attitudes
Elections and Public Opinion
Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Maps and election data for presidential elections from 1789, including county data for most recent elections. Some primary election data.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
ANES produces high quality data from its surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
Pew Research Center
Provides data and analysis on the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the United States and the world. Issues range from politics to religion to social trends.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Archives thousands of polls and surveys from the United States and some 70 foreign countries undertaken by many polling organizations on a very wide range of topics.
Follow the Money (National Institute on Money in Politics)
Comprehensive campaign-donor, lobbyist, and other information from government disclosure agencies across the United States. A 50-state federal/state database of contributions documenting $100+ billion, plus more than 2 million state lobbyist-client relationships that are registered annually. Recent expansions include selected local-level data, collecting independent spending reports for federal campaigns and in 31 states, and lobbying spending in 20 states.
Tracking the United States Congress
Track bills in Congress, representative voting records, and upcoming committee meetings.
WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues.
An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. Most data free without subscription.
Angus Reid Institute
Not-for-profit, non-partisan public opinion research foundation established to enhance and encourage better understanding of issues and trends affecting economic, social, governance, philanthropy, public administration, domestic and foreign policy in Canada and its world.
World Values Survey
The World Values Survey (www.worldvaluessurvey.org) is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life, led by an international team of scholars, with the WVS Association and WVSA Secretariat headquartered in Vienna, Austria.
The Harris Poll provides some free polling data covering a wide range of issues and industries including healthcare, technology, public affairs, energy, telecommunications, financial services, insurance, media, retail, restaurants, and consumer package goods.
U.S. political news and polling data.
Polling the Nations
Provides access to over 18,000 surveys conducted in the United States, as well as countries around the world. It includes surveys from a variety of pollsters (e.g. Quinnipiac University; Pew Research Center;) and detailed information on the poll questions. Coverage: 1986 - present. Full-Text.
Public Policy Polling
PPP employs Interactive Voice Response (IVR) technology to poll quickly, cost-effectively, accurately and on a wide range of issues. Since 2001 we have conducted surveys for politicians & political organizations, unions, consultants, and businesses. View our client list. In addition to surveys, PPP provides automated message delivery services (robocalls).
CQ Press Electronic Library
Statistical data includes Vital Statistics on American Politics, Vital Statistics on the Presidency, and Voter Turnout in the United States, 1788-2009. This resource also includes several CQ encyclopedias on various aspects of politics in the U.S. and elsewhere. Coverage: varies. Full text.