Statistics: Middle East

Afghan Women’s Resistance and Struggle in Afghanistan and Diasporic Communities, 2004-2005 aimed to develop a better understanding of Afghan women's resistance to war and violent conflicts; their engagement with multiple worlds as refugees or living in exile, their struggle for survival and/or their acquisition of new knowledge and power. The study investigated the vast diversity (class, age, ethnicity, religion) of women's experiences in the process of historical changes (in times of war and conflict, in exile and in times of peace making) and the different ways they emerge as autonomous agents and construct their identities, in culturally specific circumstances. The research assessed the gendered nature of social exclusion, and the importance of women's inclusion in the processes of reconstruction and peace making.

Nonpartisan research network that provides insight into the social, political, and economic attitudes and values of ordinary citizens across the Arab world. Largest repository of publicly available data on the views of men and women in the MENA region.

The Carnegie Middle East Governance and Islam Dataset includes both individual-level and country-level variables. Data on individual-level variables are drawn from 56 surveys carried out in 14 Arab countries, Turkey, and Iran. Taken together, a total of 82,489 men and women were surveyed.

Contains key socio-economic indicators for the emirate of Dubai.

This study contains data on approximately 10,000 events in the Arab-Israeli conflict that occurred between Israel and each of the bordering Arab nations, Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, and Iraq, in the period 1949-1969.

This data collection provides detailed documentation of approximately 3,800 events: physical conflict interactions between Israel and each of the bordering Arab nations, Egypt, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, and Iraq, in the period 1949-1969.

This study is a collection of machine-coded events using the coding scheme employed in BEHAVIORAL CORRELATES OF WAR, 1816-1975 (ICPSR 8606) (BCOW) to create a continuous time series of data on interstate interaction covering the Levant area (countries bordering on the eastern Mediterranean sea).

This study contains mainly economic data and some select sociopolitical data for Middle East nations, Israel, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and United Arab Emirates, in the period 1948-1969. Data are provided on economic aid, energy consumption for public use, oil production, national income, total exports and imports, development budget, defense spending, cost of arms race, cost of living index, consumer price index, and monetary exchange ratio. Additional variables provide sociopolitical information on population, the strength of democratic institutions in the nations, the number of illegitimate changes of government, the ruling party, the strength of traditional elites, military and bureaucracy elites, and religious and landed elites, political centralization, encounters between government forces and guerilla forces, attacks on civilians, attacks on bases and strategic installations, and political mobilizations.

This program examined the competitiveness and performance of small and micro enterprises in four MENA countries (Egypt, Turkey, Lebanon and Morocco) based on a unique survey gathering data from 18,000 enterprises in the four countries (5,000 in each in Egypt, Turkey and Morocco and 3,000 in Lebanon). The survey’s database was posted on the ERF website. The database was divided into household data and data from the 18,000 enterprises and is available in SPSS and STATA formats. Also available are the questionnaire and details on the methodology. Four country reports were published as part of the ERF Research Reports series.

ESCWA monitors the situation of Arab youth, provides policy advice, and promotes partnerships between governments and youth-led civil society organizations.

These data were gathered to provide information on the elderly in Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan, and Tunisia.

The purpose of the current study was to explore and understand the values, the general opinions, and the sociopolitical and cultural attitudes of youths in Egypt and Saudi Arabia.