Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page of the Statistics Research Guide is focused on Consumer and Income Expenditures.
See the Economics Research Guide, for additional Economics Statistics & Data sources.
Annual Capital Expenditures Survey
The Annual Capital Expenditures Survey (ACES) provides data on capital spending for new and used structures and equipment by U.S. nonfarm businesses with and without employees.
Business and Industry: ( U.S. ) Census Bureau Economic Programs
Statistics for U.S., states, metro areas, counties, and cities.
Center for Economic Studies (CES)
Annual series describes establishment-level business dynamics along dimensions absent from similar databases including firm age and firm size.
Commercial Buildings Energy Consumption Survey
National sample survey that collects information on the stock of U.S. commercial buildings, their energy-related building characteristics, and their energy consumption and expenditures.
Connecting Outcome Measures in Entrepreneurship, Technology, and Science (COMETS)
COMETS is an integrated database which can trace the links from government investment in R&D through the path of knowledge creation, its transmission and codification, and ultimately in many cases to commercial uses yielding a better standard of living and better jobs. The COMETS database integrates data on government grants, dissertations, patents, and publicly available firm data.
Consumer Expenditure Survey Series ICPSR
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CES) series (formerly called the Survey of Consumer Expenditures) provides a continuous flow of information on the buying habits of American consumers and also furnishes data to support periodic revisions of the Consumer Price Index.
Entrepreneurship and the Policy Environment (ICPSR 01327)
This paper uses a panel approach to examine the effect that the government-policy environment has on the level of entrepreneurship. Specifically, the authors investigate whether marginal income tax rates and bankruptcy exemptions influence rates of entrepreneurship.
International Monetary Fund Data
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
Kauffman Firm Survey (KFS)
Panel study of 4,928 businesses founded in 2004 and tracked over their early years of operation. Focuses on the nature of new business formation activity; characteristics of the strategy, offerings, and employment patterns of new businesses; the nature of the financial and organizational arrangements of these businesses; and the characteristics of their founders.
A major database for business research. Includes up to date information on businesses, industries, and countries. Coverage: current. Full-Text.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
National Medical Expenditure Survey Series ICPSR
The National Medical Expenditure Survey (NMES) series provides information on health expenditures by or on behalf of families and individuals, the financing of these expenditures, and each person's use of services. The first set of surveys, the NATIONAL MEDICAL CARE EXPENDITURE SURVEY (NMCES), was carried out in 1977 by the National Center for Health Services Research (now called the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research). In 1980 the NATIONAL MEDICAL CARE UTILIZATION AND EXPENDITURE SURVEY, conducted by the National Center for Health Statistics and the Health Care Financing Administration, significantly extended the series.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics
Designed to fill the need for a better understanding of the determinants of family income and its changes. Longitudinal survey of US individuals and the families in which they reside. Can be used for cross-sectional, longitudinal, and intergenerational analysis and for studying both individuals and families. For comparisons of Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, and PSID, see the comparison chart. For comparisons of National Longitudinal Surveys, Survey of Income and Program Participation, and PSID, see the comparison chart. Includes section on education, food, health, housing, psychological state, and religion.
Quarterly Food-at-Home Price Database (QFAHPD)
Provides food price data to support research on the economic determinants of food consumption, diet quality, and health outcomes.
Spatial Hazard Events and Losses Database for the United States (SHELDUS)
NOTE: Available to current Dickinson affiliates only. FIRST TIME USERS must register to search this database. Contact the Economics Liaison Librarian
for information on how to register. A county-level hazard data set for the U.S. Covers natural hazards and perils including thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, tornados, flash floods, heavy rainfall, etc. Contains information on the date of an event, affected location (county and state) and the direct losses caused by the event (property and crop losses, injuries, and fatalities). Coverage: 1960-present, varies by data type. Full-Text.
Survey of Business Owners - Main
Allows researchers to create customized tables and models and to study entrepreneurial activity and the relationships between business characteristics such as access to capital, firm size, employer-paid benefits, minority- and women-ownership, and firm age.
Survey of Consumer Attitudes and Behavior Series ICPSR
The purpose of these surveys is to measure changes in consumer attitudes and expectations, to understand why these changes occur, to evaluate how they relate to consumer decisions to save, borrow, or make discretionary purchases, and to forecast changes in aggregate consumer behavior. Changes in consumers' willingness to buy are best assessed by making use of the answers to all questions asked in the surveys, especially the open-ended questions that probe underlying reasons.
Survey of Consumer Finances
The survey data include information on families’ balance sheets, pensions, income, and demographic characteristics.
U.S. Regional Business Cycles and the Natural Rate of Unemployment ICPSR
Estimates of the natural rate of unemployment are important in many macroeconomic models used by economists and policy advisors. This paper shows how such estimates might benefit from closer attention to regional developments.
World Bank Statistics
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
World Trade Organization Statistics
International Trade Statistics provides a detailed overview of the latest developments in world trade, covering both merchandise and services trade as well as trade measured in value-added terms.
United States Business and Jobs: Structure and Changes by Sector and County, 1976-1988 ICPSR
The purpose of this study was to provide a description of both the current status and the changes in businesses and jobs in all United States counties, by 75 two-digit industry sectors. The study was designed to inquire to what extent new firm formation and small firm expansion reflect or cause economic growth.