Statistics: Multinational

This study contains data on the transfer of arms to 52 developing nations in the period 1945-1968. The Arms Transfers data (Part 1) provide information on donor and recipient, date and site of transfer, quantity, system classification (e.g., aircraft, helicopters, missiles, artilleries, small arms, or naval systems), and date production began and ended. The Weapons Systems data (Part 2) contain detailed coded information about each weapons system.

The latest and most reliable data and estimates on child mortality for each country based on the research of the United Nations Inter-agency Group for Child Mortality Estimation.

The CSES is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries and provinces include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro/electoral system variables.

This data collection contains information gathered in five annual surveys that assessed the degree of freedom in 218 nations and dependencies from 1972-1976.

The Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA) is a repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower chamber and upper chamber legislative elections from around the world.

COW seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations.

Compiles basic descriptive information on all coups d’état occurring in countries reaching a population greater than 500,000 during the period 1946-2015.

This study, a collection of crossnational measures of political democracy, contains over 800 variables for most of the world's independent countries. Political, social, and economic measures are available in the data file, and topics include adult suffrage, civil liberties, political rights, the openness, fairness, and competitiveness of the electoral process, executive and legislative selection and effectiveness, political party legitimacy, political participation, limitations on the executive branch of the government, level of democratization, economic openness, constitutional development, government legitimacy, and the outlook for freedom.

These data are a collection of demographic statistics for the populations of 125 countries or areas throughout the world, prepared by the Statistical Office of the United Nations. Data include statistics on approximately 50 types of causes of death for the years 1966 through 1974 for males, females, and total populations.

DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Includes World Development Indicators, Statistical Capacity Indicators, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, and Health Nutrition and Population Statistics.

This data collection focuses on elections and election monitoring throughout the world. Dataset 1, Data on International Election Monitoring (DIEM), codes the assessement and activities of international election monitoring organizations to national-level legislative and presidential elections in 108 countries from 1980-2004. Dataset 2, Quality of Elections Data (QED), codes the quality of national-level legislative and presidential elections in 172 countries from 1978 to 2004. Dataset 3, Supplementary Election Data, includes supplementary information on all direct presidential and legislative elections in 182 countries from 1975-2004.

The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.

The authors estimate the responsiveness of aid to recipient countries' economic and physical needs, civil/political rights, and government effectiveness. They look exclusively at the post-Cold War era and use fixed effects to control for the political, strategic, and other considerations of donors. They find that aid and per capita income have been negatively related, while aid has been positively related to infant mortality, rights, and government effectiveness.

Comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures, policy, and equity.

Contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 22,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to the present day. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.

Fertility and Family Surveys (FFS) were conducted in the 1990s in 23 member States of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE). The project concluded in 2000 with the FFS Flagship Conference. The micro-data of the surveys is available for research.

This study contains data on over 13,000 foreign conflict acts of 113 nations in the period 1950-1968.

Panel survey of a nationally representative sample of a 18-79 year-old resident population in each participating country with at least 3 panel waves and an interval of 3 years between each wave. Free registration is required.

Represents the largest, most careful and systematic comparative survey of attitudes and values toward politics, power, reform, democracy and citizens' political actions in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Arabic region.

The Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) research program was developed to provide comparisons among countries related to participation of adults in the firm creation process. The initial data was assembled as a pretest of five countries in 1998 and by 2012 over 100 countries had been involved in the program. The initial design for the GEM initiative was based on the first US Panel Study of Entrepreneurial Dynamics, and by 2012 data from 1,827,513 individuals had been gathered in 563 national samples and 6 specialized regional samples. This dataset is a harmonized file capturing results from all of the surveys.

The Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) was designed to capture various aspects of firm creation and entrepreneurship across countries. The data have been collected over a number of years (1998-2003) and include responses from 4,685 experts in over 38 countries and three subnational regions. This study seeks to measure the national attributes considered critical for new firm births and small firm growth. The dataset is a harmonized file capturing the results from all of the surveys.

The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.

GPWv3 depicts the distribution of human population across the globe and provides globally consistent and spatially explicit human population information and data for use in research, policy making, and communications. This is a gridded, or raster, data product that renders global population data at the scale and extent required to demonstrate the spatial relationship of human populations and the environment across the globe. Population data estimates are provided for 1990, 1995, and 2000, and projected (in 2004, when GPWv3 was released) to 2005, 2010, and 2015. The Global Rural-Urban Mapping Project, Version One (GRUMPv1) data collection builds on GPW to construct a common geo-referenced framework of urban and rural areas by combining census data with satellite data.

The Gridded Population of the World (GPW) collection, now in its fourth version (GPWv4), models the distribution of human population (counts and densities) on a continuous global raster surface.

The Human Mortality Database (HMD) was created to provide detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity. At present the database contains detailed population and mortality data for the 40 countries or areas.

This dataset covers the years 1990 through 2007 and contains two types of indicators for the global distribution of information, communication and technology (ICT) resources. The data includes gini coefficients for the distribution of Internet access within countries, and a technology diffusion index that weights the distribution of broadband subscribers, personal computers, mobile phones, Internet users, and international Internet bandwidth by economic output. The data are secondary source data, based on the analysis of primary data from 204 surveys fielded in 47 countries.

The ICTWSS database covers four key elements of modern political economies: trade unionism, wage setting, state intervention and social pacts. The database contains annual data for all OECD and EU member states with some additional data for emerging economies, and it runs from 1960 till 2011.

The aim of the Index of Electoral Malpractice, 1995-2006 was to investigate electoral malpractice in new and semi-democracies. It studied the mechanics of electoral malpractice and the frequency of different forms of abuse with reference to the strategic constraints under which political actors operate in different contexts. It also explored the causes and consequences of electoral malpractice. The project employed a variety of data, including existing datasets and a new dataset created specifically for this research: the Index of Electoral Malpractice, 1995-2006, constructed on the basis of 136 election observation reports produced between 1995 and 2006 by international election observation missions in 57 states in 3 regions of the world, Latin America, Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union and Sub-Saharan Africa.

This project was set up to fill the gap in adequate recording of offenses by the police for purposes of comparing crime rates in different nations and to provide a crime index independent of police statistics as an alternative standardized measure. The ICVS is the most far-reaching program of standardized sample surveys to look at a householders' experience with crime, policing, crime prevention, and feelings of insecurity in a large number of nations. It also allows for analysis of how risks of crime vary among different groups of populations across social and demographic lines.

This project updates INTERNATIONAL MILITARY INTERVENTION (IMI), 1946-1988 (ICPSR 6035), compiled by Frederic S. Pearson and Robert A. Baumann (1993). This newer study documents 447 intervention events from 1989 to 2005. To ensure consistency across the full 1946-2005 time span, Pearson and Baumann's coding procedures were followed. The data collection thus "documents all cases of military intervention across international boundaries by regular armed forces of independent states" in the international system (Pearson and Baumann, 1993).

This file contains aggregate measures from the ARDA’s coding of the 2001, 2003, and 2005 U.S. State Department’s International Religious Freedom Reports. This coding produced data on 196 different countries and territories but excluded the United States.

The International Social Survey Program (ISSP) is an ongoing program of crossnational collaboration. Formed in 1983, the group develops topical modules dealing with important areas of social science as supplements to regular national surveys.

Project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world.

Acquires datasets with income, wealth, employment, and demographic data from many high- and middle-income countries, harmonises them to enable cross-national comparisons, and makes them publicly available in two databases, the Luxembourg Income Study Database (LIS) and the Luxembourg Wealth Study Database (LWS).

The Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS) is a household survey program housed within the Survey Unit of the World Bank's Development Data Group that provides technical assistance to national statistical offices (NSOs) in the design and implementation of multi-topic household surveys.

Each quarter, the Manpower Employment Outlook Survey measures hiring confidence among approximately 66,000 employers in 42 countries and territories. The survey is one of the most trusted forecasts of labor market activity in the world and has been running for more than 50 years. It is absolutely unparalleled in its size, scope, longevity, and area of focus.

The study explored attitudes towards, and experience of, the markets for migrant domestic and sex workers in the UK and Spain through a combination of interview and survey research. The interviews were structured around a standard set of topics, and examined respondents' attitudes towards gender, race/ethnicity, age, and domestic work/commercial sex. It aimed to examine continuities and discontinuities between domestic work and sex work, paying particular attention to the role of the social/cultural imagination in constructing a market for migrant workers and questions about how this demand relates to broader socially tolerated attitudes towards race, gender, age, and sexuality, and to make a contribution to current theorizing on gender, nationality, global interdependence, age, racial/ethnic identities, and the complex intersections among these systems.

The data are fully described in "The Measurement of Cross-cutting Cleavages and Other Multidimensional Cleavage Structures," forthcoming in Political Analysis and its supplementary appendix. There are 128 countries in the dataset. The Cross-national Indices of Multidimensional Measures of Social Structure (CIMMSS) contains 69 new indices for the following dimensions: Race, Ethnicity, Language, Religion, Income, Geography.

An important part of the World Bank's work on migration and remittances involves efforts to monitor and forecast remittance and migration flows, and to provide timely analysis on topics such as remittances, migration, and diaspora issues.

The official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.

Nineteenth and early twentieth century census microdata. The collection includes data from Canada, Denmark, Great Britain, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and the United States for the period 1703 to 1911.

This database contains occupational wage data for 161 occupations in 171 countries from 1983 to 2008. The occupational wage data are derived from the ILO October Inquiry database (http://laborsta.ilo.org) by calibrating the data into a normalized wage rate for each occupation. The normalized wages refer to average hourly or monthly wage rates for adult workers.

Western multinationals are now increasingly locating their research and development (R and D) activities in the emerging economies of China and India. This offshoring of innovation raises the following questions for policy makers and multinational firms: 1) What is the extent and nature of outsourcing and offshoring innovation, especially to emerging economies like India and China? 2) What are the main drivers of the globalisation of innovation?

This study was compiled with the goal of looking beyond the national domestic level into individual party-level explanations for women's political leadership. The study consists of two parts which analyze the party level for women's ascendancy to political leadership. Part 1 focuses on an aggregate of 25 non-randomly selected countries, Part 2 focuses on Lebanon. The study records the level of religiosity of political parties, where it refers to religious components in the party's political platforms or the extent to which religion penetrates a party's political agendas. Both datasets examine party variation in religiosity, party structure, respondents' station within a parties' decision-making inner structures, and other party-level characteristics that may impact women's leadership in various political parties. Additional variables include identifiers for Muslim, Arab, and European states, level of secularism, election design, party design, and age of party.

Worldwide public opinion surveys that encompass a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.

This study looked at whether opportunistic and partisan business cycles influence fiscal policy in 28 developing countries when controlling for de facto exchange rate regimes and capital mobility. Several issues were investigated: 1) opportunistic business cycles, whether elections cause the governments budget balance (taxes minus spending) to experience fiscal expansion (lower taxes and higher spending) in order to stimulate the economy; 2) partisan business cycles, whether left-wing parties engage in more fiscal expansion; 3) whether growing capital mobility (the ability of financial capital to move across borders) will encourage or inhibit a government's ability to engage in fiscal expansion with an impending election or left-wing party; and 4) whether the exchange rate regime (the rules for determining the exchange rate) is a mitigating factor.

This study contains data on 6,754 political instability events in 84 selected nations in the period 1948-1965. These data, which permit measurement of political instability and the correlates of internal conflict behavior, are concerned with conflict directed by groups and individuals in the prevailing political system against other groups or persons, and with uncovering the determinants of stability within all national political systems. The variables in the dataset are divided into four basic types: variables that identify events, classify events, describe events, and evaluate events. The study provides a conflict intensity rating for each event. Political instability events are classified from low to high and include institutionally prescribed elections, the fall of cabinets, martial laws, assassinations of significant group leaders, mass arrests, coup d'etats, and civil wars.

Contains information on and access to the most recent update of the well-known and highly respected Polity data series, originally designed by Ted Robert Gurr. Polity IV contains coded annual information on regime and authority characteristics for all independent states (with greater than 500,000 total population) in the global state system.

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. Each record includes the question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the groups or areas included in the interview.

This study offers a measure of prime ministerial power to set government policy in 22 countries with established parliamentary democracies.

The International Curriculum Analysis (ICA) study provided curricular and textbook information from each country participating in the Third International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS). TIMSS was a comparative study of education in mathematics and the sciences conducted in over 40 countries on five continents. The goal of TIMSS was to measure student achievement in mathematics and science in participating countries and to assess some of the curricular and classroom factors that are related to student learning in these subjects. The types of data files found in this study include Textbook Specific and Curriculum Guide Specific, General Topic Trace Mapping, Document Description, Unit Level, Block Level, Textbook Coverage, and Textbook Characteristics.

Builds upon existing sociological research and brings new data to the investigation of relationships between globalization, social movements, and political change. This project aims to enhance understanding of the organizational foundations for transnational activism, namely the population of transnational social movement organizations (TSMOs). This study contains 301 variables. The variables were either taken directly from the Yearbook of International Organizations, or created from information in the Yearbook.

Provides reliable and timely data on the mathematics and science achievement of U.S. students compared to that of students in other countries. TIMSS data have been collected from students at grades 4 and 8 since 1995 every 4 years, generally. In addition, TIMSS Advanced measures advanced mathematics and physics achievement in the final year of secondary school across countries. TIMSS Advanced data have been collected internationally three times, in 1995, 2008 and 2015.

Gateway to reliable and open data and analysis on the situation of children and women worldwide.

Contains mainly annual data on unions, employers, industrial relations, and collective bargaining in 20 OECD countries from 1950 to 2000. Countries included: Austria, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the US, the UK, and New Zealand. This version is an update of a dataset that originally ran through 1992 (first released in 1995). Currently updated periodically.

The major goal of the United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems is to collect data on the incidence of reported crime and the operations of criminal justice systems with a view to improving the analysis and dissemination of that information globally. The survey results provide an overview of trends and interrelationships between various parts of the criminal justice system to promote informed decision-making in administration, nationally and internationally.

UTIP is a small research group concerned with measuring and explaining movements of inequality in wages and earnings and patterns of industrial change around the world.

World’s main provider of data on organized violence and the oldest ongoing data collection project for civil war. Includes both internal and external armed conflicts.

This is an annual survey conducted by Gallup International Association to solicit public opinion on social and political issues. Every year the survey will be conucted in approximately 50 countries, with a minimal sample size of 500 per country.

This Workplace Ethnography project generated content-coded data from the full population of book-length English language organizational ethnographies. Drawn from Australia, Canada, China, Colombia, France, Great Britain, Hungary, India, Israel, Japan, Norway, the Philippines, Scotland, South Africa, Sweden, Taiwan, United States, and Zambia, these ethnographies provided deep descriptions on a wide range of topics, such as worker behavior, management behavior, coworker relations, labor process, conflict and resistance, citizenship behavior, emotional labor, and sexual harassment. Coding of these characteristics yielded variables based on descriptions of worklife in specific organizational settings. The study data was collected in mainly two periods: the early 1990s and the early 2000s. The study generated 204 ethnographic cases.

Archive of research findings on subjective enjoyment of life. It brings together findings that are scattered throughout many studies and provides a basis for synthetic work.

The WEIS Project dataset is a record of the flow of action and response between countries (as well as non-governmental actors, e.g., NATO) reflected in public events reported daily in the New York Times from January 1966 through December 1978. The unit of analysis in the dataset is the event/interaction, referring to words and deeds communicated between nations, such as threats of military force. Each event/interaction is a daily report of an international event. There are 98,043 events included in this dataset. Coded for each event are the actor, target, date, action category, and arena. Also provided are brief textual descriptions for each event.

This data set contains 184 variables prepared by the authors in connection with their comparative study of government support of the aged. The data is focused on indicators relevant to social security (social welfare) programs and to the health and welfare of the aged. Some variables have data on up to 131 nations, although most variables have data on fewer nations, as only a limited number of nations have social security data available.

Presents information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries. It provides the most comprehensive set of income inequality statistics available and can be downloaded for free.

Aims to provide open and convenient access to the most extensive available database on the historical evolution of the world distribution of income and wealth, both within countries and between countries.

A major purpose of this data series was to determine worldwide and regional annual totals of military spending and to provide a basis for comparison with other economic information. The series supplies data on member countries of the United Nations as well as members of regional alliances or organizations such as the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the former Warsaw Pact, the World Bank, and members of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC).

Provides information and analysis about public opinion on international policy issues from around the world. The website draws together data from a wide variety of sources from around the world.