Library Databases
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowAccess research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Find, visualize, and share billions of U.S. and international statistics from trusted sources that cover business, crime, health, labor and more. This collection contains mostly U.S., as well as some international, statistics on economic and social indicators, with built-in tools for creating data visualizations, charts and maps. Continuous updates for daily, weekly, monthly, and annual datasets are provided as data is released by the source providers.
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new windowAccess social science data from around the world for research and instruction, and training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new windowExplore key economic and social indicators from the late 18th to early 21st centuries. Access as an e-book or download as PDF or Excel tables. Coverage: 1750-2010. Full text.
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search for statistical data and publications summarizing statistical findings, including data collected from United States federal and state government sources, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. This collection features descriptive abstracts and detailed indexing. Coverage: 1970 to present. Some full text.
Online Statistics Sources
- American Community Survey: U.S. Census BureauThe American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about the United States.
- Data.census.govExplore U.S. census data, learning about people, places, and economy.
- Data.gov This link opens in a new window
A collection of open United States data from federal agencies (e.g. NOAA, EPA, NASA, USAID, and Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Education, Energy, Health & Human Services, Homeland Security, Labor,Transportation, Justice, State, Veterans Affairs); as well as state, city and county governments. (The Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab is creating a Data.gov Archive to preserve and authenticate vital public datasets for academic research, policymaking, and public use.)
- Economic IndicatorsEconomic Indicators is a monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the congressional Joint Economic Committee. It provides information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
- Health Data, Tools, & Statistics (portal)Extensive directory of links to local, state, national, and international health data sources, as well as tools for public health data collection and planning.
- Historical Income Tables: U.S. Census BureauThe CPS ASEC is the preferred source for national analysis. It provides the most timely and most accurate cross-section data for the nation on income and poverty and is the official source of national poverty estimates. The ACS is preferred for subnational data on income and poverty by detailed demographic characteristics, because of its large sample size.
- Pew Research CenterProvides data and analysis on the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the United States and the world.
- QuickFacts: U.S. Census BureauProvides facts about people, business, and geography based on the last U.S. Census. Profiles are available for the nation, states, counties, cities, and towns.
- Statistical Abstracts SeriesA comprehensive summary of statistics related to social, economic, and political aspects of the United States. NOTE: The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.
- Statistics at the State and Local LevelsLinks to various online statistical resources for all states (USA.Gov).
- U.S. Census BureauProvides an amazing amount of statistical information on the United States.
- U.S. Census of Population and Housing Back to 1790The U.S. Census helps communities determine where to build everything from schools to supermarkets, and from homes to hospitals. It helps the government decide how to distribute funds and assistance to states and localities. It is also used to draw the lines of legislative districts and reapportion the seats each State holds in Congress.
- U.S. Historical Statistics on Banking 1934 to PresentProvides an annual summary of financial and structure data for all FDIC-insured institutions. The data can be used to identify and analyze long term trends and to develop benchmarks to evaluate the current conditions of the banking and thrift industries. This annual data is available from 1934 to 2017.
International Statistics
- CIA World FactbookProvides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- EurostatKey European statistics.
- ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization)International database of labor statistics covering the economically active population, employment, unemployment, wages and related variables.
- International Statistics AgenciesLinks to statistics offices and institutes around the world.
- International Trade Statistics (World Trade Organization)Quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
- NationMaster.comCreate custom graphs in order to compare different nations across a broad range of statistics, or view statistical profiles for an individual country. This is a commercial site, although data sources are cited.
- OECD StatisticsData from the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development.
- UNdataSearch across a variety of UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Includes country profiles with summary, economic, social, and environmental data.
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsInternationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.