Statistics: Surveys

The Adolescent Substance Abuse Prevention Study (ASAPS) was a randomized field trial designed to test the effectiveness of a new school-based substance abuse prevention program called Take Charge of Your Life (TCYL). This page contains a summary of the trial and the data that was collected.

The American Mosaic Project is a multiyear, multi-method study of the bases of solidarity and diversity in American life.

Conducts a number of surveys including the "Profile Survey" (longitudinal series about state/territorial health agency responsibilities, structure, planning and quality improvement activities, workforce, and more that provides core data for ongoing public health systems research and a source for tracking state public health performance and best practices).

The purpose of this study was to determine whether workgroup racial composition is related to sentence outcomes generally, and racial differences in sentencing in particular, across federal districts. This collection contains information on federal court district characteristics. Data include information about the social context, court context, and diversity of the courtroom workgroup for 90 federal judicial districts provided by 50 judicial district context variables.

Create customized reports describing over 100 measures of diversity, opportunity, and quality of life for 362 metropolitan areas.

This repeated cross-sectional national telephone survey of households was conducted as part of the evaluation of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Urban Health Initiative (UHI), a long-term effort to improve the health, safety, and well-being of children and youth in five economically distressed cities in the United States: Baltimore, MD, Detroit, MI, Oakland, CA, Philadelphia, PA, and Richmond, VA.

Nationally representative telephone survey of 3,290 English & Spanish-speaking teenagers between the ages of 13-17, and their parents. Also includes 80 oversampled Jewish households, not nationally representative, bringing the total number of completed cases to 3,370. Purpose is to research the shape & influence of religion & spirituality in the lives of American youth; to identify effective practices in the religious, moral, and social formation of the lives of youth; to describe the extent & perceived effectiveness of the programs & opportunities that religious communities are offering to their youth; and to foster an informed national discussion about the influence of religion in youth's lives, in order to encourage sustained reflection about and rethinking of our cultural and institutional practices with regard to youth & religion.

This dataset contains measures on religious belief and practice, Christian fundamentalist beliefs, religious context, and deviant behavior from students at four American universities. Two of these universities are public state schools; two are private and have religious affiliations. A total of 1,753 respondents were surveyed regarding their religious beliefs and practices, tattoos, piercings, and engagement in (or abstinence from) sexual intercourse, binge drinking, and marijuana use.

RCMD catalogs studies across the social science disciplines and provides SAS, PASW (formerly SPSS), and Stata files for the studies in the RCMD collection. Online analysis is available for some of them. This enables users to perform statistical procedures on a dataset without downloading it or requiring specific statistical packages.

Health Behavior in School-Aged Children (HBSC) is a cross-national, school-based research study conducted in collaboration with the World Health Organization (WHO) Regional Office in Europe begun in 1982 to collect information on health-related attitudes and behaviors of young people. These studies are based on nationally independent surveys in as many as 30 participating countries and are conducted every four years since the 1985-1986 school year.

The Monitoring the Future: A Continuing Study of the Lifestyles and Values of Youth annual surveys were designed to explore changes in important values, behaviors, and lifestyle orientations of contemporary American youth.

The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-1995 school year. The Add Health cohort has been followed into young adulthood with four in-home interviews, the most recent in 2008, when the sample was aged 24-32. Add Health combines longitudinal survey data on respondents' social, economic, psychological and physical well-being with contextual data on the family, neighborhood, community, school, friendships, peer groups, and romantic relationships, providing unique opportunities to study how social environments and behaviors in adolescence are linked to health and achievement outcomes in young adulthood.

Dynamic collection composed of a wide selection of analytical measures, encompassing a variety of domains, all derived from a number of disparate data sources. There are currently 7 studies derived for a variety of substantive areas including: Cost-of-Living, Disability, Pollution, Segregation Indices, Street Connectivity, an Index of Neighborhood Socioeconomic Status, and an Abridged Decennial Census. The central focus is on geographic measures for census tracts, counties, and Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) from two distinct geo-reference points, 1990 and 2000.