Background Information: Reference Books
Books & Ebooks: A Selection from the Library
Congotay! Congotay! A Global History of Caribbean Food by Call Number: TX360 .C35 G68 2014Publication Date: 2014
Gran Cocina Latina by Call Number: TX716.A1 P746 2012Publication Date: 2012
The Native Mexican Kitchen: A Journey into Cuisine, Culture, and Mezcal by Call Number: TX716.M4 G59 2020Publication Date: 2020
Peru: the Cookbook by Call Number: TX716.P4 A3413 2015Publication Date: 2015
A Taste of Latin America: Culinary Traditions and Classic Recipes from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico & Venezuela by Call Number: TX716.A1 C3925 2017Publication Date: 2017
We Are la Cocina: Recipes in Pursuit of the American DreamCall Number: ONLINE (1 copy)Publication Date: 2019
Yo Cocino Latino: Las Mejores Recetas de Cinco Populares Blogs de Cocina HispanaCall Number: ONLINE (2 copies)Publication Date: 2021
Annotated Bibliographies
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and other materials that also includes a short statement about the work's value. Click on a link above to learn how to write an annotated bibliography according to the appropriate style for your class.
Also check out the Writing Center's YouTube video How to Write an Annotated Bibliography.
Library Databases
Books and Videos
- Dickinson College Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch Waidner-Spahr library's physical collection (books, DVDs, etc.) and comparable online content (ebooks, streaming films, etc.).
- Casalini Ebooks (Torrossa) This link opens in a new windowAccess a collection of ebooks in Spanish and Italian, covering topics including literature, contemporary history and the social sciences. Full text viewing works best in browsers other than Chrome.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) Streaming This link opens in a new windowThis film collection includes documentary films and tv shows, including cooking and travel shows.
- Films on Demand Streaming This link opens in a new windowThis streaming film collection includes documentaries and travel shows, among others.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAccess books and other materials from across the disciplines and in diverse languages, with most content dating from the late 18th to the early 20th centuries. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Some full text. See our special access instructions.
Journal Articles
- JumpStart This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new windowThis database is being discontinued by the publisher and will no longer be available after June 30, 2024
Access historical sources and contemporary scholarship on Latin America and the Caribbean. This collection includes peer-reviewed journals, news sources, maps, statistics, audio, video and more. Coverage: varies by titles, contains primary sources. Some full text. - PubMed (with Dickinson links) This link opens in a new windowSearch for biomedical articles from several National Library of Medicine resources, including MEDLINE, life science journals and ebooks. This special version of PubMed includes Dickinson library's "Get It" links to additional full text. Coverage: late 1700s to present. Some full text.
Primary Sources including Cookbooks, Recipes, Ads, Posters
- Food Studies Online This link opens in a new windowAccess archival content, visual ephemera, books, and streaming films that explore how food shapes the world. This collection includes cookbooks and recipes, menus, advertising, posters and pamphlets, pertaining to several disciplines, including history, environmental studies, health studies, anthropology, biology, business, and sociology. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
