Research Guides: Spanish & Portuguese : Articles

Core Databases

Looking for literary analysis and criticism? Check out our English Literary Criticism guide -- these resources can be used for world literature topics, not just literature in English.

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
This database is being discontinued by the publisher and will no longer be available after June 30, 2024
Access historical sources and contemporary scholarship on Latin America and the Caribbean. This collection includes peer-reviewed journals, news sources, maps, statistics, audio, video and more. Coverage: varies by titles, contains primary sources. Some full text.
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Search journals published around the world on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States, since the late 1960s. The journals in this index cover political, economic, and social issues, as well as the arts and humanities. Coverage: late 1960s to present. Some full text.
Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
Access articles, reports, conference proceedings and reference books pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region on multidisciplinary topics. Most are written in English, but some French and Spanish resources are included as well. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter ; for ancient history, use JSTOR . Coverage: varies. Full text.
ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
Search articles published in Latin American journals in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology, written in the languages of Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975 to present. Citations only.
Latin American News Digest This link opens in a new window
Access aggregated news of the Latin American media, including highlights, as well as patterns across countries, noted differences, and followed themes. Coverage: current two weeks. Full text.

Additional Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.

SciELO
Dialnet
Servicio de alertas sobre publicación de contenidos científicos.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Access research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Access high-quality photojournalism and cartography, and in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment in this official journal of the National Geographic Society. Each page and photograph in this collection is fully searchable. Coverage: 1888-2015, contains primary sources. Full text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Access news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Spanish & Portuguese : Articles

Finding Articles

Core Databases

Additional Databases