Finding Articles
The library has different research tools to help you find journal articles:
- Databases - Library databases will help you find articles on a particular subject or topic. Select a database that contains the type of articles you are looking for (e.g. food studies, sociology, biology, news), and begin with a keyword search to narrow in on your specific topic.
- Journals List - Use the journals list if you are looking for a specific article (for which you have basic citation information like the article title, journal title, author, etc.), or if you wish to search/browse the contents of a specific journal.
Find more information about articles, databases, and the Journals List below.
Food Studies Journals
- Anthropology of Food
This link opens in a new window
- International Journal of Food Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Getting the Articles
If you find an article in a database:
Look for a link to the pdf or HTML version of the article. If there isn't one, click on the "Get It!" button to see if we have access.
Tutorial: How to Use the Get It! Button
Finding a specific article:
If we don't have access to an article in our collection, then you can place an order for it through ILLIAD.
The first time you use ILLIAD, you will need to set up an account.
Once you have an account, just click the "ILLIAD" link in the "Get it!" button and log in. The request form will be automatically populated with the citation information for the article. Just hit "submit" and wait for your article to arrive. Articles often arrive in the same day, but sometimes take a few days. Be sure to plan ahead!
Databases for Food Studies
Use these databases to search for articles on your food studies topic.
Agriculture
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new windowAccess both popular and professional articles, as well as scholarly material published on agriculture, biology, forestry, and ecology. Coverage: 1986 to present. Some full text, Jumpstart searchable.
- JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, ebooks, and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the biological sciences, business & economics, ecology, environmental sciences, law, public health, urban studies, and more. Coverage: historic and current. Full text.
Nutrition & Health
- PubMed (with Dickinson links) This link opens in a new windowSearch for biomedical articles from several National Library of Medicine resources, including MEDLINE, life science journals and ebooks. This special version of PubMed includes Dickinson library's "Get It" links to additional full text. Coverage: late 1700s to present. Some full text.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowSearch a comprehensive index to international psychology literature in journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1800s to present. Citations only.
History
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowExplore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowExplore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAccess books and other materials from across the disciplines and in diverse languages, with most content dating from the late 18th to the early 20th centuries. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Some full text. See our special access instructions.
- What Americans Eat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access photographs, documents, posters, and other materials that explore the U.S. government's impact on what Americans eat. Topics include food and wartime, the school lunch program, farming, and the food industry. Coverage: mostly late 1800s to mid-1900s, contains primary sources. Full text.
Culture & Society
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowAccess summaries and documents on all aspects of cultural and social life across the globe. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Coverage: historical to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
Databases in Other Subject Areas
Articles related to Food Studies can be found throughout the library. Depending on your topic, you may wish to search the databases from other disciplines, including the ones below. But don't let this list limit you. See our full list of research guides for others.
Subject Guide
Evaluating Sources
It is important to evaluate the credibility of a source before you use it for your research. This evaluating sources guide will help you ask the right questions in order to determine if a source is the best one to use.
The quick reference guide and video below will help you to identify scholarly sources, specifically.