Reference Books - Finding Background Information
Reference Books can be excellent sources of background information on a topic.
Credo Reference is a collection of online reference sources. Use the search box below to find entries related to your research topic.
Reference Books
Below is a selection of reference books relevant to Food Studies.
Finding Books
Use the library catalog search box on this page to see what books and e-books are available at Dickinson.
Jumpstart searches both the catalog and a large number of library databases, so it is also great place to start your research.
Library Catalog
Enter your search:
JumpStart
Video Tutorial Part 1: Where is my book in Waidner-Spahr Library?
Subject Guide
Primary Sources
- Food Studies Online This link opens in a new windowAccess archival content, visual ephemera, books, and streaming films that explore how food shapes the world. This collection includes cookbooks and recipes, menus, advertising, posters and pamphlets, pertaining to several disciplines, including history, environmental studies, health studies, anthropology, biology, business, and sociology. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
- Food Studies - HathitrustContains historic books and journals on cooking, gastronomy, food production, and more. Dickinson’s HathiTrust membership provides full-text access (with downloading) to more than 800 volumes in this collection. Coverage: contains primary sources. See our special access instructions.
- Early American Cookbooks - HathiTrustIncludes cookbooks released in the United States between 1800 and 1920, such as those from churches, cooking clubs, and other organizations. Dickinson’s HathiTrust membership provides full-text access (with downloading) to more than 1,400 volumes in this collection. Coverage: contains primary sources. See our special access instructions.