Statistics: Education

This study provides an opportunity to examine the effects of education on adolescent behavior, academic achievement, and cognitive and psychosocial development in the 1990s. The AHAA data provides indicators of (1) educational achievement, (2) course taking patterns, (3) curricular exposure, and (4) educational contexts within and between schools, all of which can be linked to the Add Health survey data.

A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

Examines students’ education and work experiences after they complete a bachelor’s degree, with a special emphasis on the experiences of new elementary and secondary teachers.

It provides educational attainment data for 146 countries in 5-year intervals from 1950 to 2010. It also provides information about the distribution of educational attainment of the adult population over age 15 and over age 25 by sex at seven levels of schooling— no formal education, incomplete primary, complete primary, lower secondary, upper secondary, incomplete tertiary, and complete tertiary.

Surveys cohorts of first-time, beginning students at three points in time: at the end of their first year, and then three and six years after first starting in postsecondary education. It collects data on a variety of topics, including student demographic characteristics, school and work experiences, persistence, transfer, and degree attainment.

The Common Core of Data (CCD) is the Department of Education's primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States. Comparable across all states, the CCD consists of four surveys completed annually by state education departments to report data about all United States public elementary and secondary schools, local education agencies, and state education agencies. Three categories of information are included: a general description of schools and school districts, including name, address, and phone number; data on students and staff, including demographics; and fiscal data, including revenues and current expenditures. CCD is the successor to the Elementary & Secondary Education General Information Survey (ELSEGIS) Series.

The Head Start Family and Child Experiences Survey (FACES) is a periodic, ongoing longitudinal study of program performance. Successive nationally representative samples of Head Start children, their families, classrooms, and programs provide descriptive information on the population of children and families served; staff qualifications, credentials, and opinions; Head Start classroom practices and quality measures; and child and family outcomes. FACES includes a battery of child assessments across multiple developmental domains (cognitive, social, emotional, and physical).

The Head Start Impact Study is a national, longitudinal study that involves approximately 5,000 three and four year old preschool children across 84 nationally representative grantee/delegate agencies aimed at determining how Head Start affects the school readiness of children participating in the program as compared to children not enrolled in Head Start and under which conditions Head Start works best and for which children.

The High School Longitudinal Study of 2009 (HSLS:09) is a nationally representative, longitudinal study of more than 21,000 9th graders in 944 schools who will be followed throughout their secondary and postsecondary years. The study focuses on understanding students' trajectories from the beginning of high school into postsecondary education, the workforce, and beyond. What students decide to pursue when, why, and how are crucial questions for HSLS:09, especially, but not solely, in regards to science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) courses, majors, and careers. This study features a new student assessment in algebraic skills, reasoning, and problem solving and includes, like past studies, surveys of students, their parents, math and science teachers, school administrators, as well as a new survey of school counselors.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.

State Comparisons provides tables and maps that compare states and jurisdictions based on the average scale scores for selected groups of public school students within a single assessment year, or compare the change in performance between two assessment years.

The selected publications and web sites listed provide recent state-by-state information on achievement, attainment, demographics, enrollment, finances and teachers at the elementary, secondary, and postsecondary level

The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. We work with governments to understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. We measure productivity and global flows of trade and investment. We analyse and compare data to predict future trends. We set international standards on a wide range of things, from agriculture and tax to the safety of chemicals.

PEELS is following almost 3,000 children with disabilities as they progress through preschool and into their early elementary years. The study collects data on the preschool and early elementary school experiences of a nationally representative sample of children with disabilities and the outcomes they achieve. It focuses on children's preschool environments and experiences, their transition to kindergarten, their kindergarten and early elementary education experiences, and their academic and adaptive skills.

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

From pre-primary school enrolment to tertiary graduation rates, the UIS is the leading source for international education statistics. Covering more than 200 countries and territories, the UIS database covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues such as gender parity, teachers and financing.

The data, collected for the 2005-2006 academic year from more than 5,000 doctoral programs at 212 universities, covers 62 fields of study. Included for each program are such characteristics as faculty publications, grants, and awards; student GRE scores, financial support, and employment outcomes; and program size, time to complete degree, and faculty composition. Measures of faculty and student diversity are also included.

The Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS) program includes two longitudinal studies that examine child development, school readiness, and early school experiences. The birth cohort (ECLS-B) is a sample of children born in 2001 and followed from birth through kindergarten entry. The kindergarten cohort class of 1998-1999 (ECLS-K) is a sample of children followed from kindergarten through the eighth grade.

The HS&B describes the activities of seniors and sophomores as they progressed through high school, postsecondary education, and into the workplace. The data cover the period 1980 through 1992 and include parent, teacher, and high school transcript data, student financial aid records, and college transcripts in addition to student questionnaires.

The Higher Education General Information Survey (HEGIS) Series, the predecessor to the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) Series, was designed to provide comprehensive information on various aspects of postsecondary education in the United States and its territories (American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and the Marshall Islands) and Department of Defense schools outside the United States. Data are available for both public and private two-year and four-year institutions. There are eight components: Earned Degrees/Completions, Employees, Finance, Residence and Migration, Salaries, Fall Enrollment, Institutional Characteristics, and Libraries.

The IPEDS surveys most postsecondary institutions annually, including universities and colleges, as well as institutions offering technical and vocational education beyond the high school level. IPEDS began in 1986, replacing the Higher Education General Education Information Survey (HEGIS) which began in 1966.

The Ithaka Survey of United States Higher Education Series is designed to contribute to community understanding of the attitudes and behaviors of United States college and university faculty members and librarians. This series contains similar studies regarding faculty and librarian attitudes and behaviors. Studies include topics such as: the relationship between faculty and their campus library, faculty dependence on electronic resources, and the role of libraries on the college campuses.

The Measures of Effective Teaching (MET) Project was launched in 2009 to investigate how teacher evaluation methods can best be used to inform teachers about the skills that make them most effective and help districts identify great teaching. This project brought together 3,000 teacher volunteers in six different school districts with dozens of university and education organization experts and researchers.

It provides measures of educational quality and direct assessment of educational outcomes and attainments on a national basis. NAEP's actual assessment activities began in 1969 under the auspices of the Education Commission of the States, but the idea for the project was proposed in 1963 and explored subsequently with initial funding from the Carnegie Corporation of New York. NAEP is an ongoing, periodic assessment of the knowledge, skills, understandings, and attitudes of American students in the various subject areas and disciplines taught in the nation's schools at four age levels: 9, 13, 17, and young adult - ages 26-35.

Beginning with an 8th grade cohort in 1988, NELS:88 provides trend data about critical transitions experienced by young people as they develop, attend school, and embark on their careers. Data were collected from students and their parents, teachers, and high school principals and from existing school records such as high school transcripts.

The NHES is designed to collect information from households on a variety of educational issues.

The RCG is designed to analyze the occupational outcomes and educational experiences of bachelor's and master's degree recipients who graduated from colleges and universities in the continental United States. The survey was taken during the 1985-86 academic year and again during the 1989-90 academic year.