Statistics: Household Structure

Core biological mother and father data from the baseline, 1- , 3-, 5-, and 9-year follows-ups, as well as the 3-, 5-, and 9-Year In-Home studies, are available for download from the Princeton University Office of Population Research data archive. Users must register before downloading data. Files are packaged in WinZip archives containing SAS, SPSS, and Stata data sets.

One component of a 10-year neighborhood-based initiative sponsored by the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Examines mobility, social capital and networks, neighborhood processes, civic engagement, economic hardship, the availability and utilization of services, and child and adolescent well-being. Data were collected in a set of 10 disadvantaged urban communities across the United States that are diverse in terms of race, ethnicity, immigrant populations, and physical and economic characteristics. The communities are located in Denver, Des Moines, Indianapolis, San Antonio, Seattle (White Center), Hartford, Milwaukee, Oakland, Providence, and Louisville. Include a longitudinal sample of households interviewed at up to 3 points in time between 2002 and 2011, as well as representative point-in-time samples of neighborhood and county residents.

This is a series of studies conducted by Knowledge Networks on behalf of the National Center for Family and Marriage Research, under the auspices of Bowling Green State University. Each study in this series examines the impact of economic factors on family and household relationships.

Promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the "child maltreatment field." Acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.

This survey was designed to explore factors that cause negative pregnancy outcomes by asking questions of women concerning most aspects about prenatal care and how they took care of themselves before, during, and after pregnancy. Demographic information about the mother was obtained, as well as information about the father, and information from birth certificates and fetal and infant death certificates.

This survey provides nationally representative estimates on the characteristics, pre-adoption experiences, and post-adoption support experiences of families of adopted children ages 0 to 17 years. These children were identified in other SLAITS surveys as being adopted through the US foster care system, domestic private adoption agencies, or international adoption.

The NSFH was designed to provide a broad range of information on family life to serve as a resource for research across disciplinary perspectives. A considerable amount of life-history information was collected, including: the respondent's family living arrangements in childhood, departures and returns to the parental home, and histories of marriage, cohabitation, education, fertility, and employment. The design permits the detailed description of past and current living arrangements and other characteristics and experiences, as well as the analysis of the consequences of earlier patterns on current states, marital and parenting relationships, kin contact, and economic and psychological well-being.

Time, Love, and Cash in Couples with Children (TLC3) consists of four waves of interviews with parents (married and nonmarried) who experienced a birth in the year 2000.

The U.S. Census Bureau has been headquartered in Suitland, Md. since 1942, and currently employs about 4,285 staff members. The Census Bureau is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. The U.S. Census Bureau is overseen by the Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) within the Department of Commerce. The Economics and Statistics Administration provides high-quality economic analysis and fosters the missions of the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

This data collection is the third wave of an intensive study in Boston, Chicago, and San Antonio, which was initiated to assess the well-being of low-income children and families in the post-welfare reform era. The project investigates the strategies families have used to respond to reform, in terms of employment, schooling or other forms of training, residential mobility, and fertility. Central to this project is a focus on how these strategies affect children's lives, with an emphasis on their health and development as well as their need for, and use of, social services.

The Building Strong Families (BSF) project is comprised of a four part dataset. Part 1, the BSF Eligibility and Baseline Survey Data file; Part 2, the BSF 15-Month Follow-up Survey Data file; Part 3, the program participation data file; Part 4, the BSF 15-month follow-up analysis file. This study examined the effectiveness of programs designed to improve child well-being and strengthen the relationships of low-income couples through relationship skills education.

The Child Care Bureau (CCB), Administration on Children, Youth and Families (ACYF), Administration for Children and Families (ACF), Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) provides federal Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) dollars to States, Territories, and Tribes to provide assistance to low-income families receiving or transitioning from temporary public assistance, in obtaining quality child care so they can work, or depending on their state's policy, attend training or receive education.

The National Association for Regulatory Administration (NARA) and the National Child Care Information and Technical Assistance Center (NCCIC) survey all state child care licensing agencies to compile information about state child care licensing processes and policies for licensing child care centers and small and large/group family child care (FCC) homes. This series focuses on the processes and policies in each state related to licensing program staffing, facility monitoring, and enforcement of licensing regulations. Beginning in 2008, the data are compiled annually.

The Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS) program includes two longitudinal studies that examine child development, school readiness, and early school experiences. The birth cohort (ECLS-B) is a sample of children born in 2001 and followed from birth through kindergarten entry. The kindergarten cohort class of 1998-1999 (ECLS-K) is a sample of children followed from kindergarten through the eighth grade

Growth of American Families Series examines marital fertility and family planning in the United States. Predecessor to the National Fertility Survey Series of 1965, 1970, and 1975, the Growth of American Families surveys were conducted in 1955, and 1960. Women were asked questions about fertility and contraception, including contraception use and pregnancy histories, opinions on childbearing and childrearing, desire for more children, and future childbearing intentions.

he Marital Instability Over the Life Course/Work and Family Life Study series is a nationwide longitudinal study begun in 1980 with funding from the Social Security Administration's Office of Research and Statistics and the National Institute on Aging. The intent of the data collection was to identify the causes of marital instability throughout the life course.

The National Survey of America's Families (NSAF) is part of The Urban Institute's Assessing the New Federalism (ANF) multi-year research project. Its purpose is to track the effects of recent federal policy changes decentralizing many social programs from the federal government to the states, focusing primarily on health care, income security, job training, and social services.

Women were asked questions about fertility and contraception, including contraceptive use and pregnancy histories, desired family size, and expectation of further children. Also reports background information about the respondent and her husband, such as education, religion, ethnic origin, occupation, and earnings.

The New Family Structure Study (NFSS) is a comparative, social-science data-collection project, which focused on American young adults (ages 18-39) who were raised in different types of family arrangements with varying household experiences. The sample included respondents that had lived in biologically-intact households, lived with cohabiting parents, adoptive, step, or single parents, with parents who had same-sex relationships, or with parents who remarried after divorce.

The National Institute of Child Health and Development (NICHD) Study of Early Child Care and Youth Development (SECCYD) is a four-phase, multi-site, prospective, longitudinal study designed to examine the relationships between child development and child care during infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and middle adolescence. The SECCYD constitutes the most comprehensive study conducted to date of children and the many environments in which they develop.