Statistics: Women, Youth, and the Elderly

Focusing especially on differences between Black and White Americans in middle and late life, these data constitute the first, second, third, and fourth waves in a national longitudinal panel survey covering a wide range of sociological, psychological, mental, and physical health items. V9 link leads to the published version of this study.

The Social Institutions and Gender Index is an innovative measure of underlying discrimination against women for over 100 countries. While other indices measure gender inequalities in outcomes such as education and employment, the SIGI helps policy-makers and researchers understand what drives these outcomes. The SIGI captures and quantifies discriminatory social institutions - these include among others, early marriage, discriminatory inheritance practices, violence against women, son bias, restrictions on access to public space and restricted access to productive resources.

Set of surveys designed to gather information on labor market activities and other significant life events. The Young Women's survey includes women who were ages 14-24 when first interviewed in 1968. The Mature Women's survey includes women who were ages 30-44 when first interviewed in 1967. Social and financial research may be performed as stage of life data was collected.

The National Annenberg Survey of Youth (NASY) was first fielded in 2002 with 900 young people ages 14 to 22. This in-depth telephone interview with a randomly selected sample of youth (including Spanish speakers) covers a range of both risky and protective behaviors as well as potential targets of intervention.

Designed to document the transition from school to work and into adulthood. Collects extensive information about youths' labor market behavior and educational experiences over time.

The Study of Women's Health Across the Nation (SWAN), is a multi-site longitudinal, epidemiologic study designed to examine the health of women during their middle years. The study examines the physical, biological, psychological, and social changes during this transitional period.

The Toledo Adolescent Relationships Study (TARS) Series explores the relationship qualities and the subjective meanings that motivate adolescent behavior. More specifically, this series seeks to examine the nature and meaning of adolescent relationship experiences (e.g. with family, peers, and dating partners) in an effort to discover how experiences associated with age, gender, race, and ethnicity influence the meaning of dating relationships.

Contains the full range of statistical information made available by UNICEF. Includes the official global statistical databases published in The State of the World's Children. Indicators on child survival and health, child nutrition, maternal health, water and sanitation, education, child protection, HIV/AIDS, immunization, and Millennium Development Goals.

World and regional averages of the percentage of women in national parliaments compiled by the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

The Youth Studies Series is a set of surveys designed to assess political continuity and change across time for biologically-related generations and to gauge the impact of life-stage events and historical trends on the behaviors and attitudes of respondents. A national sample of high school seniors and their parents was first surveyed in 1965. Subsequent surveys of the same individuals were conducted in 1973, 1982, and 1997. The general objective was to study the dynamics of political attitudes and behaviors by obtaining data on the same individuals as they aged from approximately 18 years of age in 1965 to 50 years of age in 1997. In this manner, the Youth Studies Series facilitates the analysis of generational, life cycle, and historical effects and political influences on relationships within the family.

The Longitudinal Study of American Youth (LSAY) was designed to examine the development of: (1) student attitudes toward and achievement in science, (2) student attitudes toward and achievement in mathematics, and (3) student interest in and plans for a career in science, mathematics, or engineering, during middle school, high school, and the first four years post-high school, and to estimate the relative influence of parents, home, teachers, school, peers, media, and selected informal learning experiences on these developmental patterns.

In 1969, the Office of Research and Statistics of the Social Security Administration designed a ten-year longitudinal study to investigate the changes in the economic and social characteristics of men and unmarried women in the United States, aged 58-63, as they approached and entered the retirement phase of their lives. The main purpose of the study was to assess the Social Security Program's provisions for retired workers, not only for recording the socioeconomic situation of Social Security beneficiaries, but also to aid policymakers in planning program changes. A series of six biennial surveys was conducted by the United States Census Bureau beginning in 1969 and ending in 1979. The surveys cover the following areas: (1) labor force history, (2) retirement and retirement plans, (3) health, (4) household, family, and social activities, and (5) income, assets, and debts.

Series of studies on women in development in 1970 with data drawn primarily from national censuses, surveys, statistical abstracts, and international statistical compendia. References are also made in some cases to evaluative studies conducted by individual researchers, research teams, and the staff of the International Demographic Data Center of the Bureau.

This data collection provides information on women's inclusion in parliamentary bodies in over 150 countries from 1945 to 2003. The dataset allows for extensive, large-scale, cross-national investigation of the factors that explain women's attainment of political power over time and provides educators with comprehensive international and historical information on women in a variety of political positions.

This dataset was produced by the Research Network on Gender Politics and the State (RNGS) as a part of a cross-national longitudinal study of women's policy offices and women's movements in western postindustrial democracies.