Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ministry of Commerce - People's Republic of China
Chinese Ministry of Commerce's main website featuring up-to-date news on Chinese trade and information on ministry policy. Includes link leading to hard data on international trade.
The US - China Business Council (USCBC)
A private, nonpartisan association of about 250 U.S. companies which do business with or operate within China. Contains reports detailing U.S. exports to China and new developments facing the Chinese economy. Also includes information on the structure of the Chinese government and links for upcoming organization events.
National Bureau of Statistics of China
The National Bureau of Statistics is in charge of statistics and economic accounting in China. Site features links leading to explanations of Chinese economic classifications, statistics regulations, and press releases.
China Daily Stock Market News
Section of the Chinese newspaper China Daily that reports on investors, global markets, and economic news perspectives from China.
People's Bank of China (PBC)
Chinese central bank. Features financial news, information on state regulations, Chinese financial data, and official reports on financial stability nationwide.
Doing Business in China
This page summarizes the World Bank's Doing Business 2019 data for China. The first table lists the overall "Ease of Doing Business" rank (out of 190 economies) and the rankings by each topic. The rest of the tables summarize the key indicators for each topic and benchmark against regional and high-income economy (OECD) averages.
U.S. Commercial Service in China
Site developed by U.S. Department of Commerce's Commercial Service with a market overview of China for U.S. companies. Services include providing counsel on market opportunities, overview of doing business in China, assistance in locating agents/distributors, industry information, and conduction of market research.
China Business Review
Official magazine of the US-China Business Council. Coverage includes market-entry strategies, opportunities in specific sectors, analysis of new laws and regulations, government and political news, and tips on how to conduct business in China.
Ministry of Agriculture - China
Chinese Ministry Agriculture's main website. Contains domestic & international ministry news, information on government regulations/affairs, and general information about the goals of the Ministry.
Hong Kong Trade Development Council
The Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC) organizes international exhibitions, conferences and business missions to create business opportunities for Hong Kong companies. Site contains overview of their work and corporate structure.
Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department
Provides statistics covering various social and economic aspects of Hong Kong such as trade, population, and business performance. Includes a corner on trade matters link dedicated to Hong Kong trade and a section with media briefings.
Shenzhen Stock Exchange
Created in 1990, the "Shenzhen Stock Exchange (the SSE) is a mutualized national stock exchange under the China Securities Regulatory Commission (the CSRC), that provides a venue for securities trading. A broad spectrum of market participants, including 540 listed companies, 35 million registered investors and 177 exchange members, create the market.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Explore all aspects of business from both scholarly and non-scholarly sources (news, trade publications). This collection includes case studies, country reports, company profiles, financial data, market research reports, and SWOT analyses in addition to books, journal articles, and trade magazines. Coverage: 1886 to present. Full text.
EconLit (Economic Literature) This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed journals, working papers from international sources, books, book chapters, and dissertations on economics topics including capital markets, econometrics, government regulations, macro- and microeconomics, monetary theory and more. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Access historical Economist news magazine issues, including supplements, special reports, surveys, full-color images, exportable financial tables, and a gallery of front covers. This magazine is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources
. Coverage: 1843-2020, contains primary sources. Full text.
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Access the complete run of the London edition of the Financial Times daily business newspaper from its first issue to the end of 2016, to study history, business, management, finance and politics. Every individual article, advertisement and market listing is included; they are shown individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day. This newspaper is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources
. Coverage: 1888 to 2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Access up to date information on businesses, industries, and countries for business research. Coverage: current. Full text.
PrivCo Private Company Data This link opens in a new window
Access business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded, United States corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Coverage: current. Full text.