Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Commercial Service in Kenya
Site developed by U.S. Department of Commerce's Commercial Service with a market overview of Kenya for U.S. companies. Services include providing counsel on market opportunities, overview of doing business in Kenya, assistance in locating agents/distributors, industry information, and conduction of market research.
Doing Business in Kenya
This page summarizes the World Bank's Doing Business 2019 data for Kenya. The first table lists the overall "Ease of Doing Business" rank (out of 190 economies) and the rankings by each topic. The rest of the tables summarize the key indicators for each topic and benchmark against regional and high-income economy (OECD) averages.
Central Bank of Kenya
The Central Bank of Kenya (Swahili: Benki Kuu ya Kenya) is Kenya's central bank. Features up-to-date news stories concerning the bank, press releases, monetary rates, and financial publications.
Business Daily Africa
Carries a selection of stories from the newspaper Business Daily, published out of Nairobi by the Nation Media Group, as well as exclusive web-only content.
Africa Business Pages
Features listings for African and international suppliers. Includes industry reports from across the continent.
An e-commerce site that Includes news items centered on market developments in Africa as well as links detailing African industries and suppliers. Also features information on the main export items in each African country.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Explore all aspects of business from both scholarly and non-scholarly sources (news, trade publications). This collection includes case studies, country reports, company profiles, financial data, market research reports, and SWOT analyses in addition to books, journal articles, and trade magazines. Coverage: 1886 to present. Full text.
EconLit (Economic Literature) This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed journals, working papers from international sources, books, book chapters, and dissertations on economics topics including capital markets, econometrics, government regulations, macro- and microeconomics, monetary theory and more. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Access historical Economist news magazine issues, including supplements, special reports, surveys, full-color images, exportable financial tables, and a gallery of front covers. This magazine is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources
. Coverage: 1843-2020, contains primary sources. Full text.
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Access the complete run of the London edition of the Financial Times daily business newspaper from its first issue to the end of 2016, to study history, business, management, finance and politics. Every individual article, advertisement and market listing is included; they are shown individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day. This newspaper is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources
. Coverage: 1888 to 2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Access up to date information on businesses, industries, and countries for business research. Coverage: current. Full text.
PrivCo Private Company Data This link opens in a new window
Access business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded, United States corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Coverage: current. Full text.