Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A comprehensive collection of classical music available online. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Stream classical music recordings (CD-quality audio) searchable by composer, title, performer, genre, or keyword. This streaming collection greatly augments our library's physical CD collection
. 15 simultaneous users may access this collection at one time. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
Top 3 Music Databases
Looking for journal articles? Try these databases first.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly journals, popular magazines, book reviews, obituaries and news relating to music, musicians, and the music industry. This index covers all styles and genres of the world’s music. See also The Music Index print volumes (Reference ML118 .M84 1949-1969)
for older sources not in the online version. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Some full text.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Search for writings about music and other performing arts, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reviews of books and performances. This index includes abstracts and some full text. Coverage: 1967 to present. Citations only.
RIPM (Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
Access historical international writings on music, music history, and musical culture published between 1800 and 1950. This index includes articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. It also includes full text with the complete runs of rare music periodicals from the 19th and early 20th century. Coverage: 1800-1950. Mostly full text.
Need More Help?
If you need more information on researching Music, contact the library liaison for Music or look at the guide for researching Music.
Grove Music Online is an encyclopedia that comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition(2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition, (2002).
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Access the online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. (For the print volumes, see Reference ML100 .N48 2000
.) This dictionary is a good starting point for research on composers and their works; musical periods and styles, including classical, popular, jazz and world music; music history; and related performing arts. Only 3 simultaneous users are allowed access at a time. This dictionary is cross-searchable with The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to music using Oxford Music Online
. Coverage: antiquity to present. Full text.