This guide highlights Dickinson library resources, including books, films, and databases, for expanding our understanding of social justice issues, so that we can combat discrimination in all its forms. You can discover more resources on the library website. If you would like help finding additional information sources, or if you wish to recommend additional resources, please contact a librarian for assistance.
News Resources
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowAccess Indigenous print journalism from the United States and Canada, including some bilingual and Indigenous-language editions. Coverage: 1828-2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
YouTube
Books: History
Before American History by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780813948256Publication Date: 2022-11-17
Cherokee Women in Charge: Female Power and Leadership in American Indian Nations of Eastern North America by Call Number: E99.C5 C7178 2022ISBN: 9781476688183Publication Date: 2022-03-11
In Whose Ruins: Power, Possession, and the Landscapes of American Empire by Call Number: Available Online & E175 .P84 2022ISBN: 9781982116750Publication Date: 2022-04-05
Native Americans in the Susquehanna River Valley, Past and Present by Call Number: Available Online & E78 .S9 N37 2015ISBN: 9781611484878Publication Date: 2013-05-23
Retold Stories, Untold Histories: Maxine Hong Kingston and Leslie Marmon Silko on the Politics of Imagining the Past by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 144384957XPublication Date: 2013-09-01
Seeing Red: Indigenous Land, American Expansion, and the Political Economy of Plunder in North America by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781469664842Publication Date: 2022-02-22
Books: Literature
Crazy Brave: A Memoir by Call Number: PS3558 .A62423 Z46 2012ISBN: 0393345432Publication Date: 2013-07-29
Dream Drawings: Configurations of a Timeless Kind by Call Number: PS3563.O47 D74 2022ISBN: 9780063218116Publication Date: 2022-05-03
The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature by Call Number: PS153 .I52 O84 2014ISBN: 0199914036Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Shapes of Native Nonfiction: Collected Essays by Contemporary Writers by Call Number: PS508.I5 S53 2019ISBN: 9780295745763Publication Date: 2019-06-01
Films
Explore the library's streaming and DVD collections:
https://www.dickinson.edu/info/20391/library/2519/film_search
Some Films Include:
- Awake: A Dream from Standing Rock (also available here)
- Blood Quantum
- Harold of Orange
- Lake of Betrayal: The Story of Kinzua Dam (also available here)
- Powwow Highway
- Smoke Signals
- Tribal Justice
- We Still Live Here
Books: Social Movements
- Book Chapter: "Occupying Space, Amplifying Affect: The American Indian Occupation of Alcatraz Island" byCall Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2022
The Life of Sherman Coolidge, Arapaho Activist by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781496233479Publication Date: 2022-12-01
Life of the Indigenous Mind: Vine Deloria Jr. and the Birth of the Red Power Movement by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781496211903Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Our Fight Has Just Begun: Hate Crimes and Justice in Native America by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780816541676Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Our History Is the Future: Standing Rock Versus the Dakota Access Pipeline, and the Long Tradition of Indigenous Resistance by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781786636720Publication Date: 2019
Renewing Indigenous Economies by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780817924959Publication Date: 2022-08-30
Standing with Standing Rock: Voices from the #NoDAPL Movement by Call Number: Available Online & E99.D1 S61835 2019ISBN: 9781517905361Publication Date: 2019-08-27
We Do Not Want the Gates Closed Between Us: Native Networks and the Spread of the Ghost Dance by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780806167251Publication Date: 2020-10-08
Books: Culture & Representation
Contesting Constructed Indian-Ness by Call Number: Available Online & GV714.5 .T39 2013Publication Date: 2013
Hearts of Our People: Native Women Artists by Call Number: N6538.A4 H43 2019ISBN: 9780295745794Publication Date: 2019-06-01
Indians on Display: Global Commodification of Native America in Performance, Art, and Museums by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781611320886Publication Date: 2013-05-15
Indigenous Men and Masculinities: Legacies, Identities, Regeneration by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0887557902Publication Date: 2015-11-06
Picturing Indians: Native Americans in Film, 1941-1960 by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780803296800Publication Date: 2020-10-01
The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen by Call Number: Available Online & E98 .F7 S54 2017ISBN: 9780816699797Publication Date: 2017-10-10
We Had a Little Real Estate Problem: The Unheralded Story of Native Americans and Comedy by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781982103033Publication Date: 2021-02-16
Visual Literature
Comics and Conquest: Political Cartoons and a Radical Retelling of the Navajo-Hopi Land Dispute by Call Number: E99.N3 K64 2023ISBN: 1421447428Publication Date: 2023-11-21
Moonshot: The Indigenous Comics Collection Volume 2 by Call Number: PN6790.N72 M662 2020ISBN: 9780987715265Publication Date: 2020
Red: A Haida Manga by Call Number: PN6733.Y24 R43 2014 & Available OnlineISBN: 9781771620222Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Dickinson Land Acknowledgement
Dickinson College is on the unceded lands of the Susquehannock nation. We acknowledge the many Indigenous peoples that lived with these lands, as well as the thousands of Indigenous children forced into the reprogramming camp established as the Carlisle Indian Industrial School (CIIS) in 1879. The College bears responsibility for the support and recognition it provided CIIS, a federal effort to culturally assimilate and eradicate Indigenous peoples. Accordingly, this living land acknowledgement is deliberately unfinished work. It will continue as a project dedicated to helping our entire community better understand our shared past, present, and future.
Center for the Futures of Native Peoples
- Center for the Futures of Native PeoplesThe Center for the Futures of Native Peoples at Dickinson College includes a wide variety of resources such as a lending library.
Mapping & Photography
Library Databases & Guides
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window Temporarily on-campus only; we're working to restore off-campus access. Access diaries, travel journals and other manuscripts, treaties, speeches, artwork and rare books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers, to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1500s-1960s, contains primary sources. Full text.
- American Indian Movement & Native American Radicalism (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access FBI files that provide detailed information on the evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1968-1979, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window Access manuscripts, Indigenous newspapers, books, and other publications exploring the political, social, and cultural history of Indigenous Peoples of North America. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 16th-20th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
Books: Education
Assimilation, Resilience, and Survival: A History of the Stewart Indian School, 1890–2020 by Call Number: Available Online & E97.6.C24 W55 2022ISBN: 1496223365Publication Date: 2022-05-01
Beyond Access: Indigenizing Programs for Native American Student Success by Call Number: E97 .B48 2018Publication Date: 2018-03-09
Boarding School Voices: Carlisle Indian School Students Speak by Call Number: Available Online, in the Archives, & E97.6.C2 K78 2021ISBN: 9781496228017Publication Date: 2021-11-01
The Bricks Before Brown: The Chinese American, Native American, and Mexican Americans' Struggle for Educational Equality by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780820362038Publication Date: 2022-08-01
Carlisle Indian Industrial School: Indigenous Histories, Memories, and Reclamations by Call Number: Available Online & in the ArchivesISBN: 9781496207692Publication Date: 2018-11-01
The Imperial Gridiron: Manhood, Civilization, and Football at the Carlisle Indian Industrial School by Call Number: Available Online & in the ArchivesISBN: 1496213378Publication Date: 2022-12-01
Without Destroying Ourselves: A Century of Native Intellectual Activism for Higher Education by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781496215611Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Books: Policy
Blood Will Tell: Native Americans and Assimilation Policy by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0803225431Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Cooperation Without Submission: Indigenous Jurisdictions in Native Nation-US Engagements by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780226608761Publication Date: 2021-09-06
Paternalism to Partnership: The Administration of Indian Affairs, 1786–2021 by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781496230584Publication Date: 2022-10-01
Preventing Child Maltreatment in the U. S. : American Indian and Alaska Native Perspectives by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781978821118Publication Date: 2022-09-16
