Standing Together for Justice
This guide highlights Dickinson library resources, including books, films, and databases, for expanding our understanding of social justice issues, so that we can combat discrimination in all its forms. You can discover more resources on the library website. If you would like help finding additional information sources, or if you wish to recommend additional resources, please contact a librarian for assistance.
Middle East Studies Research Guide
Scholarly Journal Articles
News Resources
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Access national and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS. Includes articles from the Carlisle, PA Sentinel. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
Books: Poetry
19 Varieties of Gazelle: Poems of the Middle East by Call Number: PZ7.N93 Ni 2005ISBN: 9780060504045Publication Date: 2005-03-15
Footnotes in the Order of Disappearance: Poems by Call Number: PS3610 .O679 A6 2018ISBN: 9781571315014Publication Date: 2018-03-13
Transfer: Poems (Stellfox 2018) by Call Number: PS3564 .Y44 T73 2011ISBN: 9781934414644Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Films
Explore the library's streaming and DVD collections:
https://www.dickinson.edu/info/20391/library/2519/film_search
Books: Memoir & Interviews
Brothers of the Gun: A Memoir of the Syrian War by Call Number: DS98.72 .H57 A3 2018ISBN: 9780399590627Publication Date: 2018-05-15
House of Stone: A Memoir of Home, Family, and a Lost Middle East by Call Number: HQ663.9 .S53 2012ISBN: 9780544002197Publication Date: 2013-02-05
How Does It Feel to Be a Problem?: Being Young and Arab in America by Call Number: E184 .A65 B35 2008ISBN: 9781594201769Publication Date: 2008-08-14
Life Without a Recipe: A Memoir by Call Number: PS3551 .B895 Z46 2016bISBN: 9780393249095Publication Date: 2016-04-18
Out of Place: A Memoir by Call Number: E184 .P35 S25 1999ISBN: 9780394587394Publication Date: 1999-09-14
The Return: Fathers, Sons, and the Land in Between by Call Number: PR6113 .A87 Z46 2016ISBN: 9780812994827Publication Date: 2016-07-05
Books: Fiction
The Arsonists' City by Call Number: PS3601.L92 A89 2021ISBN: 9780358126553Publication Date: 2021-03-09
The Other Americans by Call Number: PS3612.A543 O84 2019ISBN: 9781524747145Publication Date: 2019-03-26
A Good Country: A Novel by Call Number: PS3611 .H315 G66 2017ISBN: 9781632865847Publication Date: 2017-05-23
The Turtle of Oman: A Novel (Stellfox 2018) by Call Number: PZ7.N976 Tur 2014ISBN: 9780062019783Publication Date: 2016-05-03
Modern Arabic Short Stories: A Bilingual Reader by Call Number: PJ7694 .E8 M53 2008ISBN: 9780863564369Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Against the Loveless World: A Novel by Call Number: PS3601.B86 A67 2020ISBN: 9781982137038Publication Date: 2020-08-25
You Exist Too Much: A Novel by Call Number: PS3601.R33 Y68 2020ISBN: 9780349701783Publication Date: 2020
The Thirty Names of Night: A Novel by Call Number: PS3610.O67925 T45 2021ISBN: 9781982121525Publication Date: 2021-07-13
Comics
The Arab of the Future 2: A Graphic Memoir: A Childhood in the Middle East (1984-1985) by Call Number: NC1499 .S337 A23 2016ISBN: 9781627793513Publication Date: 2016-09-20
The Arab of the Future 3: A Graphic Memoir: A Childhood in the Middle East (1985-1987) by Call Number: NC1499 .S337 A2 2018ISBN: 9781627793537Publication Date: 2018-08-07
The Arab of the Future 4: A Graphic Memoir: A Childhood in the Middle East (1987-1992) by Call Number: NC1499.S337 A2 2019ISBN: 9781250150660Publication Date: 2019-11-05
The Arab of the Future: A Graphic Memoir: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1978-1984 by Call Number: NC1499 .S337 A2 2015ISBN: 9781627793445Publication Date: 2015-10-20
A Game for Swallows: to Die, to Leave, to Return by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1728446139Publication Date: 2022-08-02
Green Lantern: Rise of the Third Army (the New 52) by Call Number: PN6728.G74 J6565 2013ISBN: 1401246133Publication Date: 2014-03-25
Green Lanterns Vol. 1: Rage Planet (Rebirth) by Call Number: PN6728.G74 H86 2017ISBN: 9781401267759Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Green Lanterns Vol. 2: Phantom Lantern (Rebirth) by Call Number: PN6728.G74 H87 2017ISBN: 9781401268497Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Green Lanterns Vol. 3: Polarity (Rebirth) by Call Number: PN6728.G74 H856 2017ISBN: 1401273718Publication Date: 2017-09-19
Green Lanterns Vol. 4: the First Rings (Rebirth) by Call Number: PN6728.G74 H77 2017ISBN: 9781401275051Publication Date: 2017-12-26
Green Lanterns Vol. 5: Out of Time (Rebirth) by Call Number: PN6728.G74 H84 2018ISBN: 1401278795Publication Date: 2018-04-03
Milestone Compendium One by Call Number: PN6726 .M55 2021ISBN: 9781779513106Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Books: Anthologies
Our Women on the Ground: Essays by Arab Women Reporting from the Arab World by Call Number: P94.5.W652 A737 2019ISBN: 9780143133414Publication Date: 2019-08-06
A World Between: Poems, Short Stories, and Essays by Iranian Americans by Call Number: PS508 .I69 W67 1999ISBN: 9780807614433Publication Date: 1999-05-16
Books: Analysis
Gendering Civil War: Francophone Women’s Writing in Lebanon by Call Number: PQ3977.L4 R43 2022 & in the ArchivesISBN: 9781474499262Publication Date: 2022-03-30
Books: Photography
Activestills: Photography as Protest in Palestine/Israel by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0745336698Publication Date: 2016-12-15
The Arab Imago: A Social History of Portrait Photography, 1860–1910 by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780691151328Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Finding Room in Beirut: Places of the Everyday by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1947447610Publication Date: 2019-02-08
Imaging and Imagining Palestine: Photography, Modernity and the Biblical Lens, 1918-1948 by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9004437932Publication Date: 2021-06-03
The Indigenous Lens?: Early Photography in the near and Middle East by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 3110491354Publication Date: 2017-12-18
Screen Shots: State Violence on Camera in Israel and Palestine by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1503628027Publication Date: 2021-06-01
A Sleepless Eye: Aphorisms from the Sahara by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0815610343Publication Date: 2014-05-27
Visual Occupations: Violence and Visibility in a Conflict Zone by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0822358875Publication Date: 2015-05-04
