This guide highlights Dickinson library resources, including books, films, and databases, for expanding our understanding of social justice issues, so that we can combat discrimination in all its forms. You can discover more resources on the library website. If you would like help finding additional information sources, or if you wish to recommend additional resources, please contact a librarian for assistance.
Books
The Cambridge Companion to Asian American Literature by Call Number: PS153 .A84 C35 2015Publication Date: 2015
Envisioning America: New Chinese Immigrants and the Politics of Belonging by Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Navigating Model Minority Stereotypes: Asian Indian Youth in South Asian Diaspora by ISBN: 1138023469Publication Date: 2015-08-18Race, Rights, and the Asian American Experience by
Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2010
Race and Resistance: Literature and Politics in Asian America by ISBN: 0195146999Publication Date: 2002-03-28
Retold Stories, Untold Histories: Maxine Hong Kingston and Leslie Marmon Silko on the Politics of Imagining the Past by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 144384957XPublication Date: 2013-09-01
The sum of us : what racism costs everyone and how we can prosper together by Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2021
Two Faces of Exclusion by Publication Date: 2016
We Too Sing America: South Asian, Arab, Muslim, and Sikh Immigrants Shape Our Multiracial Future by Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2015
Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White by Call Number: Available Online TemporaryPublication Date: 2001
The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir by Call Number: E184 .V53 B85 2017ISBN: 1419718770Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Sigh, Gone by Call Number: F159.C2 T73 2020 (RESERVES)Sign in to your library account and then click on the "Request Pick Up" link in the library catalog for contact-free pick-up at the library.
1974: I-Migrant Hotel by Publication Date: 2014
Girl in Translation by Call Number: PS3611 .W65 G57 2010
Interpreter of Maladies by Call Number: PS3562 .A316 I58 1999
No-No Boy by Publication Date: 1998
Films
Asian Americans: Breaking Ground by Publication Date: 2020
Good Luck Soup: Growing Up Mixed Race in White SuburbiaCall Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Grace Lee Project: Deconstructing an Asian-American StereotypeCall Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2005
Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window Search western-language journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Coverage: 1971 to present. Citations only.
- International Women's Movement: Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women's Association (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women's Association's correspondence, minutes, financial materials, scrapbooks, and more, to learn how the organization worked to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the United States. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1938-2006, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window Search research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs, business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events, and archaeology. Coverage: mostly 1900s to present. Citations only.