Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the American Indian in the Twentieth Century by Call Number: Online
Secondary Sources
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window Search newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, and reviews that cover all aspects of Indigenous North American culture, history, and life. Topics include archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Coverage: 16th century to present. Citations only.
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window Access summaries and documents for archaeological traditions including Egyptian, Highland Andean, Coastal Andean, Maya, Highland Mesoamerican, Mississippian, Mesopotamian, the U.S. Southwest, the Indus Valley, and the Yellow River. This collection includes books, articles, dissertations and manuscripts under each tradition and is designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. Coverage: prehistory, contains primary sources. Full text.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Explore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Alternative Media (Non-mainstream news & magazines)
- Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window Access news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window Access magazines, journals, and newspapers of alternative press archives. Collections include Black American, Campus Underground, Feminist, GI Press, LGBT, Latino, Little (literary) Magazine, Native American and Right-Wing publications. Coverage: second half of 20th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
This link opens in a new window
Maps
- Native Land DigitalAn indigenous-led project to map indigenous lands.
Audiovisual Materials
- DRAM Music Online This link opens in a new window Stream American music recordings (CD-quality audio) from the New World Records and CRI labels, as well as other unique and important recordings neglected by the commercial marketplace. Genres available for streaming include folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th to 21st century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond. Includes liner notes. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full audio streaming files and full text.
Primary Sources
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window Access correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork, maps, and other resources related to American history. This collection covers colonial America, the revolutionary era, the new nation, slavery and abolition, as well as the Civil War, Reconstruction, westward expansion, the rise of industrial America, World War I, the Depression and the New Deal, women's rights, the environment, and World War II. Coverage: 1493-1945, includes primary sources. Full text.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window Temporarily on-campus only; we're working to restore off-campus access. Access diaries, travel journals and other manuscripts, treaties, speeches, artwork and rare books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers, to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1500s-1960s, contains primary sources. Full text.
- American Indian Movement & Native American Radicalism (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access FBI files that provide detailed information on the evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1968-1979, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window Access Indigenous print journalism from the United States and Canada, including some bilingual and Indigenous-language editions. Coverage: 1828-2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
- American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (History Vault) This link opens in a new window Explore topics such as the space program, civil rights, oral histories of administration officials, the American Indian Movement, Watergate, and more. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via History Vault. Coverage: 1960-1975, contains primary sources. Full text.
- American West This link opens in a new window Access a wide range of original documents that tell the story of the American West including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
- Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center This link opens in a new window Explore the history of the Carlisle Indian School, including contents of the files of individual students, publications produced by the school, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence, and other information. This resource is hosted by Dickinson College and is a work in progress; new material is added on a regular basis. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
- Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access Union Army generals' reports of service during the Civil War period, including dates and locations of service, accounts and maps of battles. Some accounts touch upon related topics including Indigenous affairs and slavery. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1864-1887, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was a gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund.
- Colonial America This link opens in a new window Access original correspondence between the colonial governments and the British government, in this CO 5 series from the National Archives, UK. This collection includes documents from early settlement and expansion to the American Revolution and politics in the Colonies. Coverage: 1606-1822, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new window Access personal accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters, that document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection provides unique perspectives from diverse groups including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Coverage: 1534-1850, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window Access manuscript and rare printed sources documenting cultural contacts and literature of empire from a number of cultural and ethnic viewpoints. This collection features sources relating to Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism. Coverage: 15th to the 20th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlements, and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window Explore the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas. Coverage: mostly the 18th and 19th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Images of America: A History of American Life in Images and Texts This link opens in a new window Access historical images and texts that celebrate places and people in America, cultivated from a series of local history books. Explore a town's history or compare the histories of towns, cultures, ethnic groups, architectural features, and more. Coverage: historic events from 1600 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window Access manuscripts, Indigenous newspapers, books, and other publications exploring the political, social, and cultural history of Indigenous Peoples of North America. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 16th-20th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Search across primary source collections including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, Indigenous Peoples: North America, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Associated Press Collections, as well as a variety of periodical archives including: Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers; Nineteenth Century United States Newspapers; Financial Times; The Economist; Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950; The Listener, 1929-1991; The Sunday Times (London); The Telegraph; The Times (London); and The Times (London) Literary Supplement. Coverage: 19th-21st centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window Access primary materials from the Library of Congress, covering various periods of American history. This collection includes photographs, manuscripts, rare books, maps, recorded sound, and video. Special online collections include Native American history, African-American history, United States presidents, immigration, literature, and cultural history. Coverage: American history - time periods vary, contains primary sources. Full text.
This link opens in a new window
- Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access records of daily events and personal accounts of emigrants who traveled to the American West. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1800-1880, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was a gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund.
- War Department & Indian Affairs (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Access documents relating to indigenous affairs in the United States before the Bureau of Indian Affairs was established. This collection includes letters received by and sent to the War Department, such as correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1800-1824, contains primary sources. Full text.
