Skip to Main Content
WorldCat (FirstSearch) database
National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition
US Federal Government Truth and Healing Commission
Federal Boarding School Annotated Bibliographies
Digital Archives
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access books and other materials from across the disciplines, including but not limited to fiction, nonfiction, music scores/sheet music, and scholarly works. Approximately 51% of content is in English, the other 49% consists of materials in over 450 different languages. Most content dates from the late 18th to the early 20th centuries. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Some full text. See our special access instructions.
-
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Access manuscripts, Indigenous newspapers, books, and other publications exploring the political, social, and cultural history of Indigenous Peoples of North America. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 16th-20th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
Department of the Interior
Guides to Physical Archives
Newspapers and Magazines
-
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Access Indigenous print journalism from the United States and Canada, including some bilingual and Indigenous-language editions. Coverage: 1828-2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
-
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access historical articles and images from the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger; American Israelite; Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; Baltimore Afro-American; Boston Globe; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; Chinese Newspapers Collection; Guardian & Observer; Jewish Advocate; Jewish Exponent; Los Angeles Times; New York Amsterdam News; New York Times; Philadelphia Inquirer; Philadelphia Tribune; Pittsburgh Courier; Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; Wall Street Journal; and Washington Post. Coverage: varies by paper ranging from 1791-2018, contains primary sources. Full text.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Access news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
Highlighted News Articles about Boarding Schools
