Additional Resources
Because this is an interdisciplinary research area, you might also find the following research guides useful:
Reference Books
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and CulturePublication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of IdentityPublication Date: 2010
Online Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window Explore general articles on American history and culture. This encyclopedia addresses topics such as literature, art, photography, film, popular culture, architecture, consumer culture, urban studies, ethnicity, gender, race, economics, labor, social movements, politics, and global America. (This encyclopedia is also part of Credo Reference.) Coverage: pre-colonial times to present. Full text.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Access encyclopedic titles in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window Access articles from Africana; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; the Dictionary of African Biography; the Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought; the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography; and African American National Biography, along with other key resources. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
Core Databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowExplore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Access the journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist and Cultural Anthropology. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Caribbean Search This link opens in a new windowAccess articles, reports, conference proceedings and reference books pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region on multidisciplinary topics. Most are written in English, but some French and Spanish resources are included as well. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Other Relevant Databases
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAccess citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, including history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1949-2021, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Access news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowAccess magazines, journals, and newspapers of alternative press archives. Collections include Black American, Campus Underground, Feminist, GI Press, LGBT, Latino, Little (literary) Magazine, Native American and Right-Wing publications. Coverage: second half of 20th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
