Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social IssuesPublication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Human RightsPublication Date: 2009
Great American Court Cases SeriesPublication Date: 1999
Key Concepts in Public HealthPublication Date: 2009
The A-Z of Corporate Social ResponsibilityPublication Date: 2010
Online Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window Explore general articles on American history and culture. This encyclopedia addresses topics such as literature, art, photography, film, popular culture, architecture, consumer culture, urban studies, ethnicity, gender, race, economics, labor, social movements, politics, and global America. (This encyclopedia is also part of Credo Reference.) Coverage: pre-colonial times to present. Full text.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess a weekly analysis on one of many broad-ranging topics from the news. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist. Coverage: 1991 to present. Full text.
- CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowBrowse CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Researcher and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Access essays that present multiple sides of controversial issues, along with a series of questions and additional information to generate further thought. This collection also includes supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. It is useful as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Databases
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window Access research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowExplore essential topics related to criminal justice and criminology, including forensic sciences, corrections and policing. This collection includes international journals. Coverage: early 1900s to present. Full text.
- EconLit (Economic Literature) This link opens in a new windowSearch peer-reviewed journals, working papers from international sources, books, book chapters, and dissertations on economics topics including capital markets, econometrics, government regulations, macro- and microeconomics, monetary theory and more. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess articles covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowAccess articles, reports, government documents and other unpublished sources not indexed elsewhere, on topics in education and many related fields (child development, psychology, libraries, etc). See also Education Source. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Access an online United States national data and mapping tool with multidisciplinary applications. This tool provides data related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Leverage U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group, up to a national level, as well as custom-created regions. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. See our PolicyMap guide to get started: https://libguides.dickinson.edu/policymapguide
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess research covering comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, and political theory. Coverage: 1960s to present. Full text.
