For additional resources
Since this is an interdisciplinary subject area, you might also find it helpful to visit the two research guides listed below:
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Sex and GenderPublication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Women and GenderPublication Date: 2002
Feminist Philosophies A-ZPublication Date: 2007
Queer America: A GLBT History of the 20th CenturyPublication Date: 2008
American MasculinitiesPublication Date: 2010
Core Databases
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowAccess women's studies and feminist journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature. Coverage: mostly 20th century to present. Full text.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Explore the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. This collection includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and reports from government agencies and non-governmental organizations. Coverage: 1970 to present. Mostly full text.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly and popular publications covering lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, and sociology. This collection includes an LGBTQ+ thesaurus for enhanced searching. Coverage: 1951 to present. Full text.
Other Relevant Databases
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAccess citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
- Gender Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess gender studies eBooks from the Duke University Press, including titles related to LGBTQ studies, cultural studies, American studies, activism, art, and more. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowView streaming films of documentaries, interviews, archival footage and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture, civil rights, and other issues. This collection is part of AVON: Academic Video Online, but may be searched separately. It may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1970-2019, contains primary sources. Full text.
